files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
48°F | 72°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
51°F | 70°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Starkey Named To WBCA Board Of Directors PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Thursday, 30 May 2013 07:10

Lenoir-Rhyne Head Women's Basketball Coach Todd Starkey has been named to the WBCA Board Of Directors for 2013-14. WBCA is the Women's Basketball Coaches Association. Starkey, who just completed his eighth season as Bear mentor, was elected to the NCAA Division II Group I position.
Starkey has fashioned a 141-88 record with Lenoir-Rhyne and is the school's all-time winningest coach. Starkey, the 2008-09 WBCA/RUSSELL NCAA Division II National Coach Of The Year, has led Lenoir-Rhyne to three playoff berths (2009, 2010 and 2013), a pair of South Atlantic Conference Regular Season Championships (2008-09 and 2009-10) and the 2009 Food Lion SAC Tournament Championship.
Starkey has also guided the Bears to seven consecutive winning seasons and was named the SAC Coach Of The Year three straight years (2008-09, 2009-10 and 2010-11). This past year, the Bears finished with a 19-10 mark and earned a berth to the 2013 NCAA Division II Southeast Regional Tournament in Morrow, Ga.
The WBCA Board of Directors develops policies, procedures and regulations for the operation of the organization. They also monitor the organization's financial health, programs and overall performance and provide the chief executive officer with the resources to meet the needs of those the organization serves.
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls.

2013-14 WBCA Board Of Directors
Executive Committee

Sue Semrau, Head Coach, Florida State University, President
Coquese Washington, Head Coach, Penn State University, Vice President/President-Elect
Matthew Mitchell, Head Coach, University of Kentucky, Secretary
Deb Patterson, Head Coach, Kansas State University, Treasurer
Connie Hurlbut, Senior Associate Commissioner, Western Athletic Conference, WBCA Committee on Basketball Issues Chair
Charli Turner Thorne, Head Coach, Arizona State University, Past President

Board of Directors

Anucha Brown, NCAA Vice President for Women's Basketball
Amanda Butler, Head Coach, University of Florida, Division I At-Large
Nikki Caldwell, Head Coach, Louisiana State University, Division I At-Large
Claudette Charney, Head Coach, Hillsdale College, Division II Legislative
Tricia Cullop, Head Coach, University of Toledo, Division I At-Large
Diane Dickman, Managing Director, NCAA Academic & Membership Affairs
Carmen Dolfo, Head Coach, Western Washington University, Division II Group II
Rich Ensor, Commissioner, Metro Atlantic Conference, Conference Commissioners
Kelly Graves, Head Coach, Gonzaga University, Division I West
Brandan Harrell, Head Coach, Georgia Highlands College, Junior/Community Colleges
Aaron Johnston, South Dakota State University, Division I Midwest
Mary Klinger, Head Coach, Rutgers Preparatory School, High School
Patricia Manning, Head Coach, Williams College, Division III At-Large
Joanne P. McCallie, Head Coach, Duke University, Division I East
Melissa McFerrin, Head Coach, University of Memphis, Division I Mideast
Lisa Mispley Fortier, Assistant Coach, Gonzaga University, Assistant Coaches
Kirsten Moore, Head Coach, Westmont College, NAIA
Danielle O'Banion, Head Coach, Kent State University, BCA
Martha Putallaz, Duke University, Faculty Athletic Representatives
Jennifer Rizzotti, Head Coach, University of Hartford, Division I Legislative
Vic Schaefer, Head Coach, Mississippi State University, Male Coaches
Mary Beth Spirk, Head Coach, Moravian College, Division III At-Large
Dawn Staley, Head Coach, University of South Carolina, Division I At-Large
Todd Starkey, Head Coach, Lenoir-Rhyne University, Division II Group I
Christy Thomaskutty, Head Coach, Emory University, Division III Legislative

Photo Courtesy: Todd Starkey, L-R Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email