High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
66°F | 42°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
60°F | 38°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Storm Wins State Title PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Monday, 20 May 2013 11:58

The Watauga Storm 15-and-under boys basketball team captured the America

Youth Basketball Association Division I State Championship, May 17th-19th, by knocking off C.C. Flight (Charlotte), the No.1 overall seed, 75-63 in the title game.
Watauga advanced with a blowout win against the Cleaveland Elite, 72-49 in the semifinal round. Aaron Dobbins and Michael Ebaugh led the way for the Storm. Dobbins had 17 points and eight rebounds; Michael Ebaugh chipped in 12 points and five boards.
The Flight advanced to the finals by knocking off the Fayettville Warriors 71-58 in their semifinal game. C.C. Flight also made it through pool play by winning all of their games and claiming the No.1 seed in bracket play. Watauga had to bounce back from a first round loss by winning their next three games to claim the No.2 seed.
Jacob Waldroop paced Watauga in the championship game with 19 points and four rebounds. Harrison Cobb added 15 points and five rebounds; Caleb Bryson chipped in 11 points and four assists; Holden Russell added nine points and five assists;  Dobbins had nine points and ten rebounds, Nick Sherman had six points; Morgan Mckay, Dillon Carmichael and Zack Valet added two points apeice. Ebaugh had had five rebounds.
With the win the Storm will advance to the National Tournament in Charlotte, N.C., June 27-30. Last years Nationals were held in Orlando, FL.
Pictured front row left to right  Harrison Cobb, Nikolaus Sherman, Holden Russell, Jacob Waldroop, and Caleb Bryson. Back Row Coach David Isaacs, Zack Valet, Morgan Mckay, Aaron Dobbins, Michael Ebaugh, Dillon Carmichael and Coach Greg Russell.

Photo Courtesy: Watauga Storm, PHOTO SUBMITTED

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email