files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 48°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
72°F | 52°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Written by Chandler Carver   
Wednesday, 06 March 2013 13:59

The 2013 Southern Conference women’s basketball postseason awards were announced on Wednesday, following a balloting of the league’s head coaches.

Davidson senior Sophia Aleksandravicius was named the league’s player of the year for the second-consecutive season, while Chattanooga’s Wes Moore was named Coach of the Year.
Aleksandravicius was also tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year for the second-consecutive season, while Furman guard Holli Wilkins was named Freshman of the Year.
Aleksandravicius finished the regular season leading the league in rebounds (9.9), blocked shots (2.8), defensive rebounds (7.2) and finished third in scoring (15.8 ppg). The Pound Ridge, NY native was also named the Preseason Player of the Year.
Moore, in his 15th year at Chattanooga, guided the Lady Mocs to their 18th conference regular-season title and a No. 1 seed in the conference tournament. Moore led the Lady Mocs to a 26-3 overall record and a 19-1 conference record, closing the season on a 16-game win streak. Chattanooga also recorded one of the biggest wins in school history, defeating No. 20 Tennessee, 80-71, to open the 2012-13 season.
Wilkins started 25-of-29 games for the Paladins, including starting all 20 conference games, and averaged 7.3 ppg in conference play.
Chattanooga led all teams with three players on the All-Conference team: junior Ashlen Dewart, senior Kayla Christopher and junior Taylor Hall. Davidson placed two on the All-Conference team in Aleksandravicius and junior Laura Murray. Appalachian State and Elon also placed two each on the All-Conference team: senior Anna Freeman (APP), sophomore Maryah Sydnor (APP), senior Ali Ford (Elon), and senior Kelsey Evans (Elon). Samford senior Jazmine Martin rounded out the All-Conference team.
Wilkins also earned a spot on the All-Freshman team and was joined by UNCG’s Lucy mason, Chattanooga’s Tatianna Jackson, Western Carolina’s Lindsay Simpson, and Davidson’s Dakota Dukes.
Wofford’s Mariah Masalin, a senior guard from Orange Park, Fla., was named the recipient of the Ann Lashley Inspiration Award. This award honors a student-athlete or coach who has shown outstanding courage or service. It is presented in memory of former Elon women’s basketball associate head coach Ann Lashley, who passed away on November 10, 2005 after a six-month battle with Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma.
Masalin lost her mother, Kim, to cancer on November 19, 2012, but did not miss Wofford’s next game, two days after her mother’s funeral. Masalin has not missed a game or practice since her mother’s death, and will tie the record for games played in her career with an appearance in Friday’s first-round tournament game. Masalin has appeared in every game in her career.
The 2013 Southern Conference Women’s Basketball Tournament begins Friday, March 8 at 11:30 a.m. at Kimmel Arena in Asheville, N.C. The championship game is scheduled for Monday, March 11 at 3:00 p.m.


2013 SoCon Women’s Basketball Awards
All-Conference Team
Anna Freeman, Appalachian State
Maryah Sydnor, Appalachian State
Sophia Aleksandravicius, Davidson
Laura Murray, Davidson
Ali Ford, Elon
Kelsey Evans, Elon
Jazmine Martin, Samford
Ashlen Dewart, Chattanooga
Kayla Christopher, Chattanooga
Taylor Hall, Chattanooga


All-Freshmen Team
Dakota Dukes, Davidson
Holli Wilkins, Furman
Lucy Mason, UNCG
Tatianna Jackson, Chattanooga
Lindsay Simpson, Western Carolina


Player of the Year
Sophia Aleksandravicius, Davidson


Defensive Player of the Year
Sophia Aleksandravicius, Davidson


Freshman of the Year
Holli Wilkins, Furman


Coach of the Year
Wes Moore, Chattanooga



Ann Lashley Inspiration Award
Mariah Masalin, Wofford



Photo Courtesy: Anna Freeman, ASU Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email