files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
74°F | 53°F | 20%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
69°F | 53°F | 50%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Strickland, Hedash Honored By Southern Conference PDF Print
Written by Brandon McGinnis   
Wednesday, 06 March 2013 13:20

Two members of Appalachian State University wrestling have been honored by the Southern Conference, as redshirt freshman Zack Strickland has been named

as an all-SoCon selection at 165 pounds, while classmate Colin Hedash joined Strickland on the all-freshman team, announced by the conference on Wednesday.
Strickland becomes the 34th Appalachian wrestler since 1993 to be named to earn an all-conference nod. Before the 1993 season, the SoCon Meet champions earned all-conference honors. Strickland matched the number of votes as Chattanooga's Josh Condon at 165 pounds as both were named to the team.
Strickland finished the regular season with a 22-10 record and a 12-1 mark in duals for the season. Currently, the Muncy, Pa. native has won seven of his last eight, tallying four major decisions, a technical fall and a pin. In the most recent RPI rankings, Strickland was ranked No. 30 in the nation.
Hedash closed out the year with a 17-10 record and impressive 6-1 record in conference duals. The Slatington, Pa. native went 10-4 in duals and finished fifth at the Keystone Classic in November. Hedash was responsible for 35 points scored in duals for the year, the third most on the team.
Strickland and Hedash become the second and third App State wrestlers to be named to the all-freshman team, as current teammate Paul Weiss was named to the team last season.
Regular-season champion, Chattanooga, placed five on the all-SoCon team while, The Citadel's Odie Delaney was awarded SoCon Wrestler of the Year, an award past Mountaineers have claimed twice in the last four seasons.
Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own wrestlers.
Appalachian seeks its first SoCon Tournament Championship since 2003 on Saturday, March 9 in Lexington, Va. Doors to Cameron Hall are scheduled to open at 9 a.m. while matches are set to begin at 10 a.m. The final rounds are slated to begin at 7 p.m.


Wrestler of the Year
Odie Delaney, R-Sr., HWT, The Citadel


Freshman of the Year
Ugi Khishignyam, 141, The Citadel


All-Southern Conference Team
125 - Nick Soto, So., Chattanooga
133 - Aaron Hansen, R-Fr., The Citadel
141 - Ugi Khishignyam, R-Fr., The Citadel
149 - Alex Hudson, R-Jr., Chattanooga
157 - Matt Frisch, R-Fr., The Citadel
165 - Zack Strickland, R-Fr., Appalachian State
          Josh Condon, R-Sr., Chattanooga
174 - John Lampe, R-Fr., Chattanooga
184 - Josh Tuck, Sr., The Citadel
197 - Niko Brown, R-Sr., Chattanooga
HWT - Odie Delaney, R-Sr., The Citadel


All-Freshman Team
Colin Hedash, Appalachian State
Zack Strickland, Appalachian State
Eric Montoya, Campbell
Matt Frisch, The Citadel
Marshall Haas, The Citadel
Aaron Hansen, The Citadel
Ugi Khishignyam, The Citadel
Gray Jones, Gardner-Webb
Jake Residori, SIUE
John Lampe, Chattanooga



Photo Courtesy: JohnMark Bentley, ASU Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email