files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
59°F | 52°F | 80%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
64°F | 48°F | 30%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Two Bears Earn All-Region Honors PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Friday, 30 November 2012 09:12

Lenoir-Rhyne's Kaleb Myrick and Myer Nolan have both earned 2012 NCAA Division II Daktronics All-Super Region Two honors in football. Myrick, a senior

 offensive lineman from Loganville, Ga., was a First-Team All-South Atlantic Conference pick this fall and was selected as the co-winner of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy.
The trophy is given annually to the top offensive lineman in the South Atlantic Conference. Myrick shares this year's award with Carson-Newman's Kevin Day, also a first-team all-region pick.
Myrick helped anchor an offensive line that is currently second in NCAA Division II in rushing at 376.2 yards per game. The Bears also averaged 35.2 points per contest and 430.6 yards of total offense, the team's highest outputs since 1994.
Nolan, a junior defensive back from Atlanta, Ga., led the team in interceptions this season with six to go along with 61 tackles, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries in 2012.
Nolan was a big reason L-R leads the league in scoring defense (17.3 ppg) and turnovers caused with 39 this year.
Both players helped the Bears finish with a 9-3 record on the year and a 6-1 mark in league play. L-R also won its second straight SAC Championship and first conference title outright in 37 seasons.
The Bears earned a trip to the playoffs and won their first postseason game since 1962. L-R's season ended last Saturday in a 38-35 defeat to Carson-Newman in the second round of the NCAA Division II Playoffs in Jefferson City, Tenn.
The Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Super Region Two Football Team is selected by members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) representing members of the Gulf South Conference, South Atlantic Conference, Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.
NCAA Division II Independent members North Greenville University and the University of North Carolina at Pembroke are included as well.


2012 NCAA Division II Daktronics
All-Super Region Two Football Teams
First Team Offense
TE - Daniel Youssif, West Georgia
WR - Chris Bowden%, Wingate
WR - Gerald Ford, Valdosta State
OL - Ryan Schraeder%, Valdosta State
OL - Kevin Day, Carson-Newman
OL - Edmund Kugbila, Valdosta State
OL - Kaleb Myrick, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL - Andy Nations, West Alabama
QB - Cayden Cochran, Valdosta State
RB - Derrick Washington, Tuskegee
RB - Brandon Baker, Carson-Newman
RS - Lavon Downs, Delta State
K - Ryne Smith, West Alabama


First Team Defense
DL - Ridge Wilson, West Alabama
DL - Vauchard Goodridge, Clark Atlanta
DL - Richie Mata'afa, North Alabama
LB - Leron Furr, Fort Valley State
LB - Cory Johnson, Catawba
LB - Corey Jones, Lane
LB - Tavarius Wilson, North Alabama
CB - William Buford, Tuskegee
CB - Jumal Rolle, Catawba
S - Dexter Moody, Albany State
S - Otha Foster, West Alabama
P - Justin Rosenbaum, Fort Valley State


Second Team Offense
WR - Damian Ford, Stillman
WR - Xzanvion Smith, Tusculum
OL - Joseph So, Wingate
OL - Devonte Jones, Tuskegee
OL - Christopher Tolbert, Tuskegee
OL - Nick Allison, Mars Hill
OL - Will Furlong, North Alabama
QB - David Thomas, Miles
RB - David Carter, Morehouse
RB - Shaikel Davis, Mars Hill
RS - Thomas Williams, Morehouse
K - Curt Duncan, Carson-Newman


Second Team Defense
DL - Troy Harris, Mars Hill
DL - Nick Napolitano, Wingate
DL - Carlos Ware, Kentucky State
LB - Apollo Stretch$, Newberry
LB - Deon Lacey, West Alabama
LB - Jared Seate, Wingate
LB - Chris Pope, Valdosta State
CB - Myer Nolan, Lenoir-Rhyne
CB - Carlos Wilson, Stillman
S - Luke Harris, Tusculum
S - Caleb Massey, North Alabama
P - Eric Watts, Brevard


Region Offensive Player of the Year: Derrick Washington, Tuskegee
Region Defensive Player of the Year: Cory Johnson, Catawba


$ - 2011 DAKTRONICS First Team All-Region
% - 2011 DAKTRONICS Second Team All-Region

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email