files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 49°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
71°F | 52°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Six L-R Players Earn All-Southeast Region Honors PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Tuesday, 20 November 2012 08:28

Six members of the Lenoir-Rhyne Women's Soccer Team garnered 2012 NCAA Division II Daktronics All-Southeast Region honors. Of the six players selected, Leah Mullins and Brianna Belsky were chosen

to the all-region first-team. Mullins, a freshman forward from Kissimmee, Fla., led the team in goals scored (13) and total points (29) en route to First-Team All-South Atlantic Conference honors.
Mullins was also named the 2012 SAC Freshman Of The Year and the Most Valuable Player of the Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Tournament.
Belsky, a first-team all-league honoree as well, started all 20 games for the Bears and helped anchor a defense that allowed just seven goals all year. Belsky, a freshman defender from Egg Harbour Township, N.J., also tallied three goals, five assists and 11 points on the season.
Senior Caitlin Scruggs (Torrance, Calif.), sophomore midfielder Hanna Kiebel (Parker, Colo.), senior midfielder Carley Griffin (Fresno, Calif.) and freshman defender Amber Madriaga (Wailuku, Hawaii) all earned second-team all-region accolades for the Bears.
Scruggs led the conference in goals-against average (0.49) and shutouts (eight) to go along with 72 saves while earning First-Team All-Southeast Region honors for the second time in her career.
Kiebel finished with five goals, four assists and 14 points on the season while Griffin (two goals, five assists and nine points) also made the all-region first team for the second time.
Madriaga started all 20 games as well and finished with three assists as all four players were named to the All-South Atlantic Conference First Team this fall.
The Lenoir-Rhyne Women's Soccer Team, under first-year Head Coach Cally Morrill, finished the season with a 16-2-2 record and advanced to the NCAA Division II Playoffs for the third straight year.
The Bears also went 9-0 in league play for the second consecutive season and won both the 2012 South Atlantic Conference Regular Season and Tournament Championships.
The Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region Teams are voted on by the sports information directors of the Southeast Region. The region is comprised of the Conference Carolinas, the Peach Belt Conference, and the South Atlantic Conference.
Members of the first team are now eligible for Daktronics NCAA Division II All-America honors. The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition.


2012 Daktronics NCAA Division II
Women's Soccer All-Southeast Region Teams
GK - Mary Mancin, Columbus State, Sr., Gainesville, Ga.
F - Morgan Mitchell, Armstrong Atlantic State, Sr., Lilburn, Ga.
F - Jade Montgomery, Wingate, So., Monroe, N.C.
F - Amalia Arvidsson, UNC Pembroke, So., Boras, SWEDEN
F - Leah Mullins, Lenoir-Rhyne, Fr., Kissimmee, Fla.
MF - Stephanie Lowery, Columbus State, Sr., Sandy, Utah
MF - Nadima Skeff, Armstrong Atlantic State, Sr., Brasilia, BRAZIL
MF - Gabrielle Brodie, Newberry, So., Rolleston, New Zealand
MF - Cicely Taliaferro, Belmont Abbey, Jr., Redwood City, Calif.
D - Emily Cattanach, Armstrong Atlantic State, Sr., Fort Myers, Fla.
D - Kansas Bayly, Columbus State, Jr., Lilburn, Ga.
D - Kayla Brown, Columbus State, Sr., Lawrenceville, Ga.
D - Brianna Belsky, Lenoir-Rhyne, Fr., Egg Harbour Township, N.J.


GK - Caitlin Scruggs, Lenoir-Rhyne, Sr., Torrance, Calif.
F - Tramicka James, Tusculum, Sr., Wilson, Fla.
F - Kelly Penston, North Georgia, Jr., Suwanee, Ga.
F - Natalia Valentine, Clayton State, Sr., Bocksburg, SOUTH AFRICA
F - Gabriela Reid, Limestone, So., Birmingham, ENGLAND
MF - Hanna Kiebel, Lenoir-Rhyne, So., Parker, Colo.
MF - Carley Griffin, Lenoir-Rhyne, Sr., Fresno, Calif.
MF - Kaitlyn Kerrigan, Lees-McRae, Jr., Lakewood Ranch, Fla.
MF - Catherine Lovin, Columbus State, Sr., Griffin, Ga.
D - Taylor Lee, North Georgia, Sr., McDonough, Ga.
D - Kelly Moldenhauer, Wingate, Sr., Mint Hill, N.C.
D - Shelby Rolling, Columbus State, Fr., Stayner, Ontario
D - Amber Madriaga, Lenoir-Rhyne, Fr., Wailuku, Hawaii


REGION PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Morgan Mitchell, Armstrong Atlantic State



Photo Courtesy: Leah Mullins, L-R Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email