files/0 (2).jpeg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
73°F | 58°F | 20%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
76°F | 61°F | 30%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
L-R Women Takes SAC XC Championship PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Sunday, 21 October 2012 09:39

The Lenoir-Rhyne Women's Cross Country Team took home the 2012 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Championship which took place Saturday morning on the campus of Tusculum College. L-R was led by sophomore Marie Mauhar

(Mills River, N.C.) and senior Elizabeth Chaffee (Winston-Salem, N.C.), who both earned All-SAC First-Team honors after finishing fourth and fifth overall, respectively.
Mauhar ran the 5K course in 20:18 while Chaffee finished in 20:22 as the Bears won their third title in the past five years. L-R also finished first in 2008 and 2009. Wingate's Keeley Wood was the top female in the race as she finished in 19:27. The Bulldogs were runner-up as well. Lenoir-Rhyne junior Laura Rhyne (Taylorsville, N.C.) earned second-team all-conference accolades after placing 11th overall with a time of 20:35.
On the men's side, L-R finished third overall while Mars Hill won its 16th straight South Atlantic Conference Championship dating back to 1997. Wingate's Steve Hammond claimed men's individual honors after winning the 8K race with a time of 26:26 while junior Aaron Nelson (Mayodan, N.C.) was L-R's No. 1 runner in the meet.
Nelson earned All-SAC Second-Team honors with his eighth-place finish. Nelson ran a 27:34. The Lenoir-Rhyne Men's and Women's Cross Country Teams will next compete in the NCAA Division II Southeast Regional Championships on Saturday, November 3, in Charlotte, N.C.


2012 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference
Cross Country Championships
Greeneville, Tenn. - Tusculum College
October 20, 2012


1. Mars Hill 27
2. Wingate 97
3. Lenoir-Rhyne 102
4. Lincoln Memorial 115
5. Brevard 139
6. Anderson 141
7. Tusculum 191
8. Newberry 194
9. Catawba 197
10. Carson-Newman 253


Lenoir-Rhyne's Individuals
8. Aaron Nelson 27:32
15. Zack Queen 27:59
20. Mike York 28:15
27. Kyle Barry 28:28
33. Dan Jones 28:47
39. Mike Ryan 29:03
43. Ripken LaMarsh 29:09
47. Kelly Etienne 29:28
75. Gustav Meyners 32:28


All-SAC First Team
Steve Hammond, Wingate
Alex Griggs, Mars Hill
Cesar Reyes, Mars Hill
David Cooper, Tusculum
Eric Blackburn, Mars Hill
Bradley Maldonado, Lincoln Memorial
Brady Adcock, Mars Hill


All-SAC Second Team
Aaron Nelson, Lenoir-Rhyne
Parks Edwards, Anderson
Carter Benge, Mars Hill
Christian Crifasi, Catawba
Patrick Helmick, Brevard
Kiel Bollero, Mars Hill
Binyam Belachew, Wingate


SAC All-Freshman Team
Alex Griggs, Mars Hill
Cesar Reyes, Mars Hill
Patrick Helmick, Brevard
Ryan Mecca, Lincoln Memorial
Chase Shermer, Mars Hill


SAC Runner of the Year: Steve Hammond, Wingate
SAC Freshman of the Year: Alex Griggs, Mars Hill
SAC Coach of the Year: Mike Owens, Mars Hill


1. Lenoir-Rhyne 68
2. Wingate 73
3. Anderson 80
4. Mars Hill 98
5. Lincoln Memorial 100
6. Brevard 168
7. Carson-Newman 178
8. Catawba 208
9. Tusculum 219
10. Newberry 242


Lenoir-Rhyne's Individuals
4. Marie Mauhar 20:18
5. Elizabeth Chaffee 20:22
11. Laura Rhyne 20:35
16. Ashley Kale 20:53
32. Hanna Ramirez 22:01
34. Paige Smith 22:08
45. Hope Rust 22:35
54. Amber Bowles 23:17
64. Alyse Childress 24:22
72. Megan Carper 25:29
73. Bethany Griggs 25:38


All-SAC First Team
Keeley Wood, Wingate
Kristen Trammel, Mars Hill
Hannah Cook, Brevard
Marie Mauhar, Lenoir-Rhyne
Elizabeth Chaffee, Lenoir-Rhyne
Angela Canale, Brevard
Jessie Baldwin, Newberry


All-SAC Second Team
Emily Eckworth, Anderson
Amber Stoerp, Lincoln Memorial
Sydney Hazel, Anderson
Laura Rhyne, Lenoir-Rhyne
Sam Haering, Wingate
Melanie Wollenberg, Wingate
Amanda Mahaffey, Anderson


SAC All-Freshman Team
Hannah Cook, Brevard
Sam Haering, Wingate
Tia Belter, Lincoln Memorial
Savannah Hulbert, Mars Hill
Maggie Bernabei, Tusculum


SAC Runner of the Year: Keeley Wood, Wingate
SAC Freshman of the Year: Hannah Cook, Brevard
SAC Coach of the Year: Jason Stewart, Lenoir-Rhyne


Photo Courtesy: Marie Mauher, L-R Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email