files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Nov-2014.jpg files/bp-santa_320x110.jpg
GoBlueRidge.Net
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins
HCR WSOC TV NCNN
files/bcbs_2014.gif

Todays ForecastToday:
40°F | 30°F | 100%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
36°F | 21°F | 70%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
ASU Wrestling Releases 2012-13 Schedule PDF Print
Written by Brandon McGinnis   
Wednesday, 22 August 2012 06:49

Appalachian State University wrestling coach JohnMark Bentley announced the team’s 2012-13 schedule on Tuesday, highlighted by seven home competitions. The season gets underway on Nov. 4 when the Mountaineers travel to the

Hokie Open in Salem Va., where seven App State wrestlers placed sixth or higher last season. The Apps return to Boone for their home-opener on Nov. 11 for a quad-meet featuring George Mason, Anderson and Belmont Abbey. A week later, App State will travel to Philadelphia, Pa. for the Keystone Classic. Southern Conference play begins when Gardner-Webb comes to Appalachian on Dec. 4, followed by a home, non-conference showdown with Ohio four days later. Appalachian then flies west to Reno on Dec. 16 to participate in the Reno Classic.
The Mountaineers will bring in the New Year with the Southern Scuffule on Jan. 1 and 2 in Chattanooga, Tenn. Four days later, ASU travels to SIU Edwardsville for a tri-meet, facing SoCon opponent SIUE and Northern Illinois. App State will return home on Jan 15 for three-straight home competitions against Campbell and The Citadel, and concluding with the Appalachian Open on Jan 26.
Following the Open, the Apps travel to Chattanooga on Feb. 3 and non-conference opponent, Virginia, on Feb. 9. ASU wraps up the schedule with two SoCon road competitions, as they will face VMI on Feb. 20 and Davidson on Feb. 24. The SoCon Tournament, hosted by VMI, will be on March 9 in Lexington, Va., and the NCAA Championships will be held in Des Moines, Iowa at Wells Fargo Arena on March 21-23.

 


ASU Wrestling - 2012-13 Schedule 

 


Sun, Nov 04   Hokie Open  at Salem, Va.    All Day 
Sun, Nov 11   George Mason  BOONE, N.C.    1 p.m. 
Sun, Nov 11   Anderson  BOONE, N.C.    2:30 p.m. 
Sun, Nov 11   Belmont-Abbey  BOONE, N.C.    4:00 p.m. 
Sun, Nov 18   Keystone Classic  at Philadelphia, Pa.    All Day 
Tue, Dec 04   Gardner-Webb *  BOONE, N.C.    6:30 p.m. 
Sat, Dec 08   Ohio  BOONE, N.C.    6:30 p.m. 
Sun, Dec 16   Reno Tournament  at Reno, Nev.    All Day 
Tue, Jan 01 -
Wed, Jan 02   Southern Scuffle  at Chattanooga, Tenn.    All Day 
Sun, Jan 06   SIU Edwardsville *  at Edwardsville, Ill.    12 p.m. 
Sun, Jan 06   Northern Illinois  at Edwardsville, Ill.    2 p.m. 
Tue, Jan 15   Campbell *  BOONE, N.C.    6:30 p.m. 
Fri, Jan 18   The Citadel *  BOONE, N.C.    6:30 p.m. 
Sat, Jan 26   Appalachian Open  BOONE, N.C.    All Day 
Sun, Feb 03   Chattanooga *  BOONE, N.C.    2 p.m. 
Sat, Feb 09   Virginia  at Charlottesville, Va.    1 p.m. 
Wed, Feb 20   VMI *  at Lexington, Va.    7:30 p.m. 
Sun, Feb 24   Davidson *  at Davidson, N.C.    1 p.m. 
Sat, Mar 09   Southern Conference Tournament  at Lexington, Va.    10 a.m. 
NCAA Division I Championships 
Thu, Mar 21   Day One  at Des Moines, Iowa    10 a.m. 
Fri, Mar 22   Day Two  at Des Moines, Iowa    10 a.m. 
Sat, Mar 23   Day Three  at Des Moines, Iowa    10 a.m. 

 


* Conference Games 

 


Photo Courtesy: JohnMark Bentley, ASU Athletics


 

 

  
Prev ArticleNext Article
 
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email

files/Carolina-Panthers.gif
files/goheels.gif
files/appstatemountaineers.gif
files/whs_pioneers.gif
files/Avery-Vikings.jpg