files/0 (2).jpeg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
62°F | 80°F | 20%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
61°F | 72°F | 40%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Kimbrough, McCray Earn All-America Honors Again PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Thursday, 16 August 2012 17:08

The College Sports Journal announced its preseason All-America squad. The Southern Conference had ten players selected to that team. Inside linebacker Jeremy Kimbrough of Appalachian State earned first-team honors, defensive back Demetrius McCray was a second-team selection.  Eric Breitenstein, the preseason SoCon Offensive Player of the Year

and a Walter Payton Award candidate, defensive tackle Brent Russell of Georgia Southern, wide receiver Aaron Mellette of Elon, and tight end Colin Anderson of Furman earned first-team All-America honors; kicker Cameron Yaw of Samford, fullback Dominque Swope of Georgia Southern, outside linebacker Alvin Scioneaux of Wofford College joined McCray of the Mountaineers on the second team. Fabian Truss of Samford was named to the third team.
The Mountaineers, ranked sixth in The Sports Network Poll, officially kick off the season at East Carolina on Saturday, September 1 at 12 noon. Coverage of that game begins at 10 a.m. on AM 1450, WATA.


2012 College Sports Journal FCS Preseason All-America Team


First Team



QB Brad Sorensen, Senior, Southern Utah

RB Tim Flanders, Junior, Sam Houston State

RB Terrance West, Sophomore, Towson

FB Eric Breitenstein, Senior, Wofford

AP Shakir Bell, Junior, Indiana State

WR Aaron Mellette, Senior, Elon

WR Ryan Spadola, Senior, Lehigh

WR Nicholas Edwards, Senior, Eastern Washington

TE Colin Anderson, Senior, Furman

T Aaron Adams, Senior, Eastern Kentucky

T Danny Kistler, Junior, Montana

G Malcolm Boyd, Senior, Liberty

G Earl Watford, Senior, James Madison

C Ray Wilburn, Senior, UC Davis



DE Ben Obaseki, Senior, Indiana State

DE Blake Oliaro, Junior, San Diego

DT Zach Minter, Senior, Montana State

DT Brent Russell, Senior, Georgia Southern

DL Marquis Jackson, Senior, Portland State

OLB Jody Owens, Senior, Montana State

OLB Keith Pough, Senior, Howard

ILB Matt Evans, Senior, New Hampshire

ILB Jeremy Kimbrough, Senior, Appalachian State

CB B.W. Webb, Senior, William & Mary

CB Marcus Williams, Junior, North Dakota State

SS Darnell Taylor, Senior, Sam Houston State

FS Kejuan Riley, Senior, Alabama State

DB Charles James, Senior, Charleston Southern


Special Teams

K Zach Brown, Senior, Portland State

P Jonathan Plisco, Senior, Old Dominion

KR Kevin Fogg, Senior, Liberty

PR Graylyn Crawford, Senior, Stephen F. Austin

LS Richard Wright, Junior, Liberty


Second Team



QB Jeff Mathews, Junior, Cornell

RB Zach Bauman, Junior, Northern Arizona

RB Andrew Pierce, Junior, Delaware

FB Dominique Swope, Sophomore, Georgia Southern

AP Jordan Brown, Senior, Bryant

WR Xavier Boyce, Senior, Norfolk State

WR Brandon Kaufman, Junior, Eastern Washington

WR Norman White, Senior, Villanova

TE Justin Perillo, Senior, Maine

T Evan Conrad, Senior, Southeast Missouri State

T Blake Matthews, Senior, Norfolk State

G Chris Howley, Senior, Maine

G Tytan Timoteo, Senior, Weber State

C Sherman Carter, Senior, Tennessee State



DE Willie Jefferson, Senior, Stephen F. Austin

DE Joseph LeBeau, Senior, Jackson State

DT J.T. Cleveland, Senior, Sam Houston State

DT Kayon Swanson, Senior, Southern Illinois

DL Michael Cole, Junior, Maine

OLB Alvin Scioneaux, Junior, Wofford

OLB Tyler Starr, Junior, South Dakota

ILB Clarence Bumpas, Junior, Northern Colorado

ILB Stephon Robertson, Junior, James Madison

CB Dax Swanson, Senior, Sam Houston State

CB Demetrius McCray, Senior, Appalachian State

SS Jamaal White, Senior, Northwestern State

FS Malcolm Bronson, Senior, McNeese State

DB Jestin Love, Junior, Central Arkansas


Special Teams

K Cameron Yaw, Senior, Samford

P Patrick Murray, Senior, Fordham

KR AJ Cruz, Senior, Brown

PR Darius Carey, Senior, McNeese State

LS Chris Beaver, Senior, James Madison


Third Team



QB DeNarius McGhee, Junior, Montana State

RB Matt Denham, Senior, Eastern Kentucky

RB Miguel Maysonet, Senior, Stony Brook

FB Kendall Gaskins, Senior, Richmond

AP Fabian Truss, Junior, Samford

WR Rodrick Rumble, Senior, Idaho State

WR Cordell Roberson, Senior, Stephen F. Austin

WR Shane Savage, Senior, Cornell

TE Kyle Juszczyk, Senior, Harvard

T Terron Armstead, Senior, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

T Alex Savoie, Senior, McNeese State

G Ricky Archer, Junior, New Hampshire

G Lamar Mady, Senior, Youngstown State

C FN Lutz, Senior, Indiana State



DE Frank Beltre, Senior, Towson

DE Nate Palmer, Senior, Illinois State

DT Cody Larsen, Senior, Southern Utah

DT Caraun Reid, Senior, Princeton

DL Chris Burnette, Senior, Old Dominion

OLB Kennith Jackson, Senior, Cal Poly

OLB Craig Wilkins, Senior, Old Dominion

ILB Doug Johnson, Senior, Rhode Island

ILB Aaron Archie, Senior, Indiana State

CB Jeremy Moore, Senior, Georgetown

CB Robert Alford, Senior, Southeastern Louisiana

SS Brian Thompson, Senior, William & Mary

FS Jordan Dangerfield, Senior, Towson

DB Colton Heagle, Junior, North Dakota State


Special Teams

K Tyler Sievertsen, Junior, Northern Iowa

P Mark Hamilton, Senior, Villanova

KR Seitu Smith, Sophomore, Harvard

PR Darius Drummond, Junior, South Carolina State

LS John Hubbard, Senior, Northern Iowa



Photo Courtesy: Jeremy Kimbrough and Demetrius McCray, ASU Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email