files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Feb2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
16°F | 31°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
26°F | 41°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Bears Men's Soccer Pick Finish Fifth In SAC Coaches Poll PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Tuesday, 14 August 2012 14:30

The Lenoir-Rhyne University Men's Soccer Team was voted fifth in the 2012 South Atlantic Conference Coaches Preseason Poll, league officials announced this morning. Tusculum, which received two first-place votes in the poll, was picked to win the regular season championship. The

Pioneers placed four places on the all-league preseason teams while Mars Hill was picked to finish second after receiving four first-place votes.  The Lions are ranked No. 17 in the NSCAA NCAA Division II National Preseason Top 25 Poll.
Lenoir-Rhyne is coming off a 9-9-3 campaign in 2011 including a 3-4-2 mark in conference play, good for a sixth-place tie. However, the Bears did rally in last year's Food Lion SAC Tournament and advanced to the championship match against top-seeded Anderson before falling by a 1-0 score in overtime.
Several returnees for Lenoir-Rhyne this fall include junior goalkeeper Stefan Dill (Southampton, BERMUDA) and senior defender Chris Johnson (Liverpool, ENGLAND).
Dill finished with a 1.18 goals-against average, four shutouts and 83 total saves while Johnson led the squad with seven assists during the 2011 season.
Lenoir-Rhyne opens the 2012 season on Thursday, August 30, against King at home beginning at 7:30 p.m., at the Moretz Sports - Athletic Complex.




2012 South Atlantic Conference


Men's Soccer Preseason Coaches Poll
1. Tusculum (2) 69
2. Mars Hill (4) 68
3. Anderson (3) 67
4. Lincoln Memorial (1) 62
5. Lenoir-Rhyne 44
6. Carson-Newman 40
7t. Catawba 37
7t. Wingate 37
9. Newberry 16
10. Brevard 10


2012 All-South Atlantic Conference
Men's Soccer Preseason Teams


Mario Pinto, Lincoln Memorial
Stephen Bivens, Mars Hill
Felipe Ferraro, Mars Hill
Carson Smith, Catawba


Shu Ogawa, Anderson
Chris Nash, Lincoln Memorial
Corey Faughnan, Catawba
Alex Mullen, Mars Hill


Callum Home, Lincoln Memorial
Matias Rubio, Tusculum
Domhnall Minogue, Catawba
Fredrik Muren, Tusculum


Lukas Hesse, Anderson
Zac Scott, Mars Hill


* Two-way tie for first-team goalkeeper; no second team distinction.




Leonardo Germiniani, Lincoln Memorial
Tapiwa Munetsi, Anderson
Emmanuel Aboaye, Carson-Newman
Kofi Kufuor, Newberry


Roberto Pimentel, Tusculum
Stephen McNeill, Tusculum
Taylor Jolley, Carson-Newman
Adrian Ochoa, Newberry


Evan Preston-Kelly, Carson-Newman
Zak Moss, Anderson
Greg Munn, Mars Hill
Cody Langley, Mars Hill

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email