files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
58°F | 52°F | 60%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
64°F | 48°F | 30%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Breitenstein, Niam Earn Preseason All-American Honors PDF Print
Written by Brent Williamson   
Tuesday, 31 July 2012 10:05

On Tuesday, College Sporting News announced the 2012 FCS Preseason All-America Teams. Wofford fullback Eric Breitenstein and linebacker Mike Niam were named to the first team and linebacker Alvin Scioneaux earned a spot on the third team. Breitenstein, a senior from Valle Crucis, North Carolina, led the Southern Conference in rushing last year as

he earned SoCon Offensive Player of the Year honors. Last season he ran for 1,474 yards and was fifth in the nation in scoring at 9.50 points per game. He was named All-American by the Associated Press, Sports Network and Phil Steele while finishing 14th in the voting for the Walter Payton Award. Currently he is third in school history in career rushing and second in career rushing touchdowns along with being the NCAA FCS active career leader in rushing and rushing touchdowns.
Niam, a senior from Hudson, Ohio, was second on the team in 2011 with 83 total tackles. He also had six tackles for loss, two sacks and a forced fumble while leading the team in tackles in six games. Last season he earned an honorable mention spot on the College Sporting News Fabulous Fifty FCS All-America Team.
Scioneaux, a junior from Garyville, Louisiana, led Wofford last season with 85 total tackles. He was second in the SoCon in tackles for loss and sacks to earn first team All-Southern Conference honors from the coaches. Scioneaux also was named a third team All-American by Phil Steele and the Sports Network. Founded in 2001, College Sporting News is the largest and oldest news service solely devoted to publishing original content and other information of the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision. CSN annually names national coach, offensive, and defensive honors, pre-season and post-season All-America teams, national weekly student-athletes honors, and maintains the Gridiron Power Index (GPI) ranking of teams which the NCAA Division I Football Championship Committee has used as a tool for the selection of teams since 2008. The CSN websites at and provide extensive columns, articles, blogs, photos, video, schedules, links to tickets and available media for every game, a daily news ticker email newsletter, news from other media outlets, and much more to assist media and fans to remain in constant contact with the FCS.
Wofford will report to camp on Sunday, August 5, with the first practice scheduled for Monday, August 5.


FCS 2012 Preseason All-America Teams




QB DeNarius McGhee, Montana State, Jr
RB Shakir Bell, Indiana State, Jr
RB Timothy Flanders, Sam Houston State, Jr
FB Eric Breitenstein, Wofford, Sr
AP Jordan Brown, Bryant, Sr
OT Aaron Adams, Eastern Kentucky, Sr
OT Evan Conrad, SE Missouri State, Sr
OG Malcolm Boyd, Liberty, Sr
OG Zach Brackus, Southern Utah, Sr
OC Mike Sellers, The Citadel, Jr
TE Colin Anderson, Furman, Sr
WR Aaron Mellette, Elon, Sr
WR Nicholas Edwards, Eastern Washington, Sr
WR Rodrick Rumble, Idaho State, Sr


DE Ben Obaseki, Indiana State, Sr
DE Blake Oliaro, San Diego, Jr
DT J.T. Cleveland, Sam Houston State, Sr
DT Brent Russell, Georgia Southern, Sr
DL Willie Jefferson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr
LB Matt Evans, New Hampshire, Sr
LB Jeremy Kimbrough, Appalachian State, Sr
LB Keith Pough, Howard, Sr
LB Mike Niam, Wofford, Sr
CB Marcus Williams, North Dakota State, Jr
CB Demetrius McCray, Appalachian State, Sr
SS Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State, Sr
FS Kejuan Riley, Alabama State, Sr
DB Charles James, Charleston Southern, Sr


KR Kevin Fogg, Liberty, Sr
PR Darius Drummond, South Carolina State, Jr
K Zach Brown, Portland State, Sr
P Jonathan Plisco, Old Dominion, Sr
LS Richard Wright, Liberty, Jr




QB Brad Sorensen, Southern Utah, Sr
RB Terrance West, Towson, So
RB Matt Denham, Eastern Kentucky, Sr
FB Kendall Gaskins, Richmond, Sr
AP Gralyn Crawford, Stephen F. Austin, Sr
OT Blake Matthews, Norfolk State, Sr
OT Patrick Ford, Eastern Kentucky, Sr
OG Earl Watford, James Madison, Sr
OG Danny Kistler, Montana, Jr
OC Gavin Farr, Southern Utah, Jr
TE Justin Perillo, Maine, Jr
WR Richard Sincere, Sam Houston State, Jr
WR Ryan Spadola, Lehigh, Sr
WR Norman White, Villanova, Sr


DE Frank Beltre, Towson , Sr
DE Joseph LeBeau, Jackson State, Sr
DT Zach Minter, Montana State, Sr
DT Cody Larsen, Southern Utah, Sr
DL Marquis Jackson, Portland State, Sr
LB Blake Peiffer, SE Missouri State, Sr
LB Aaron Archie, Indiana State, Sr
LB Wes Dothard, Chattanooga, Jr
LB Jody Owens, Montana State, Sr
CB Daxton Swanson, Sam Houston State , Jr
CB B.W. Webb, William & Mary, Sr
SS Colten Heagle, North Dakota State, Jr
FS Malcolm Bronson, McNeese State, Sr
DB Serge Kona, Duquesne, Sr


KR Fabian Truss, Samford, Jr
PR Terrence Lewis, Alcorn State, Sr
K Tyler Sievertsen, Northern Iowa, Jr
P Patrick Murray, Fordham, Sr
LS Mike Chocholousek, Charleston Southern, Sr




QB Kurt Hess, Youngstown State, Jr
RB Jamaine Cook, Youngstown State, Sr
RB Andrew Pierce, Delaware, Jr
FB Brian Barlow, James Madison, Sr
AP Zach Bauman, Northern Arizona, Jr
OT Billy Turner, North Dakota State, Jr
OT Kadeem Williams, Albany, Jr
OG Chris Howley, Maine, Sr
OG Ricky Archer, New Hampshire, Jr
OC FN Lutz, Indiana State, Sr
TE Kyle Juszczyk, Harvard, Sr
WR Cordell Roberson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr
WR Tyrone Walker, Illinois State, Sr
WR Lanny Funsten, Davidson, Sr


DE Joshua Williams, Chattanooga, Sr
DE Tyler Starr, South Dakota, Jr
DT Chris Burnette, Old Dominion, Sr
DT Caraun Reid, Princeton, Sr
DL Marcus Edwards, Tennessee Tech, Sr
LB Evan Fierson, Illinois State, Sr
LB Stephon Robertons, James Madison, Jr
LB Alvin Scioneaux, Wofford, Jr
LB Jawara Dudley, Stony Brook, Jr
CB Varmah Sonie, Northern Iowa, Sr
CB Jeremy Moore, Georgetown , Sr
SS Jestin Love, Central Arkansas, Jr
FS Jordan Dangerfield, Towson, Sr
DB Justin Bell, Eastern Kentucky, Sr


KR Jordan Wells, SE Louisiana, So
PR Darius Carey, McNeese State, Sr
K Kevin Robb, South Dakota, Jr
P Cass Couey, The Citadel, Sr
LS John Hubbard, Northern Iowa, Sr



Photo Courtesy: Eric Breitenstein, Wofford College Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email