High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
51°F | 65°F | 60%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
40°F | 62°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Written by Jason Yellin   
Wednesday, 18 July 2012 13:04

University of Tennessee junior wide receivers Justin Hunter and Da’Rick Rogers were each named to the 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List released Tuesday. The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver

in college football and is selected by a national selection committee consisting of more than 180 prominent football journalists, commentators, and receivers. The 2012 winner will be presented live on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, televised by ESPN on Dec. 6, 2012. Hunter, from Virginia Beach, Va., caught 17 passes for 314 yards and two touchdowns before suffering a torn ACL in the Florida game that ended his 2011 season. He averaged 151 yards receiving in his first two games of last season, and his combined 302 yards receiving against Montana and Cincinnati were the most by a UT receiver in a season’s first two games in school history. In 15 career games, Hunter has 32 receptions for 717 yards receiving and nine touchdowns. Rogers, from Calhoun, Ga., was a first team AP All-SEC team and a second team selection on the All-SEC Coaches team in 2011 after leading the conference with 1,040 yards receiving and finishing second in the league with both 67 receptions and nine receiving touchdowns. He was the sixth Vol to post a 1,000-yard receiving season and his yards and receptions totals from a year ago ranked fifth and sixth, respectively, in Tennessee history. In 25 career games at UT, including 12 starts, Rogers has caught 78 passes for 1,207 yards and 11 touchdowns. No Tennessee player has won the Biletnikoff Award, while three Vols have earned semifinalist distinction, including Joey Kent (1996), Kelley Washington (2001), and Robert Meachem (2006).


Bray On O'Brien QB Watch List 


The preseason watch list accolades continue to roll in for Vols junior quarterback Tyler Bray. On Wednesday, he was named to the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback of the Year Award Watch List. He is also on the Manning Award Watch List and Maxwell Award Watch List.
This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation's best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2012 college football season.
A native of Kingsburg, Calif., Bray has played in 16 games for the Vols in his career, including 12 starts, and already ranks among the school's career passing leaders in touchdowns (7th, 35), completions (10th, 272), and yards (3,832). He has completed 272 of 471 passing attempts for his career (57.7%), and in 2011, he completed 147-of-247 passes for 1,983 yards, 17 touchdowns, and six interceptions, averaging 283.3 passing yards per game. Bray is 8-4 in his career as a starter and owns the UT records for consecutive games with multiple touchdown passes (10) and most passing yards in the first four games of a season (1,328).
Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 124 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 6.
The 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email