files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
52°F | 69°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
50°F | 56°F | 80%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Breitenstein Named To Payton Watch List PDF Print
Written by Brent Williamson   
Thursday, 12 July 2012 17:20

The race for the 26th annual Payton Award kicked off with The Sports Network’s announcement of a stellar Watch List for the Football Championship Subdivision's top individual honor. Twelve of this year’s initial twenty nominees were finalists for the award last year. Wofford is represented on the list by Eric Breitenstein, who finished 14th in the voting in 2011 and 19th in 2010. Breitenstein, a senior from Valle Crucis, North Carolina, led the Southern Conference in rushing last year as he earned SoCon Offensive Player of the Year honors. Last season he ran for 1,474 yards and was fifth in the nation in scoring at 9.50 points per game. He was named All-American by the Associated Press, Sports Network and Phil Steele. Currently he is third in school history in career rushing and second in career rushing touchdowns along with being the NCAA FCS active career leader in rushing and rushing touchdowns.
The 2011 finalists returning to the Watch List are quarterbacks Casey Brockman of Murray State, DeNarius McGhee of Montana State and Brad Sorensen of Southern Utah; running backs Shakir Bell of Indiana State, Jordan Brown of Bryant, Jamaine Cook of Youngstown State, Timothy Flanders of Sam Houston State, Andrew Pierce of Delaware and Terrance West of Towson; fullback Eric Breitenstein of Wofford; and wide receivers Aaron Mellette of Elon and Rodrick Rumble of Idaho State.
Joining the Watch List are quarterbacks Taylor Heinicke of Old Dominion, Kurt Hess of Youngstown State and Jeff Mathews of Cornell; running backs Zach Bauman of Northern Arizona, Matt Denham of Eastern Kentucky and Miguel Maysonet of Stony Brook; all-purpose player Richard Sincere of Sam Houston State; and wide receiver Ryan Spadola of Lehigh.
The Payton Award Watch List can undergo revision during the 2012 season. Ballots will be sent to a panel of about 175 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries following the regular season on Nov. 19. The top three vote-getters will be invited to The Sports Network FCS Awards Presentation.
The Sports Network also presents the Buck Buchanan, Jerry Rice and Eddie Robinson awards. The Buchanan Award honors the FCS defensive player of the year, the Rice Award goes to the FCS freshman of the year and the Robinson Award honors the FCS coach of the year. Those three winners will join the top three Payton finalists at the national awards banquet.


Photo Courtesy: Eric Breitenstein, Wofford College

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email