files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Sept2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
59°F | 52°F | 80%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
64°F | 48°F | 30%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
All Conference Teams Announced In Soffball, Soccer PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Wednesday, 23 May 2012 17:07

The Northwestern 3A/4A Conference released its final all-conference teams for the 2011-12 season on Wednesday. The Watauga High women's soccer team had four all-NW3A/4A selections, Kendyl Baird, Skylar Hicks, Emily Haas and Hannah Younger; the softball team had three selections, Taylor Drummonds, Riley Pudney and Kim Robinson.
In soccer, St. Stephens, which won the regular-season title and made it to the Class 3A western finals, had a

league-high seven selections (Olivia Holmes, Kalyn Meosky, Amanda Hall, Lauren Brooks, Macy Franklin, Alex Roarke, and Tina Voudouris); Hickory, which finished second in the conference standings and lost to St. Stephens in the regional semifinals, had six players chosen to the all-conference team (Katie O'Brien, Erika Troutman, Jackie Lomboy, Jessie Herfurth, Sirey Sevilla, and Sarah Henson); Hibriten had three players selected (Amanda Transon, Autumn Clark and Aleigha Patterson); Fred T. Foard had two players chosen (Ashley Jolly and Katheryn McGinnis); Alexander Central (Julia Rubner) and South Caldwell (Rachel Lineback) each had one player selected.
Jackie Lomboy of Hickory was named the Player of the Year; Macy Franklin of St. Stephens was named the Offensive Player of the Year; Amanada Transom of Hibriten was named the Defensive Player of the Year; Chuck Davis of St. Stephens was named the Coach of the Year.
In softball, Alexander Central, which lost to Porter Ridge in the regional semifinals Tuesday night, had seven players chosen (Chelsea Wilkinson, Lauren Elder, Brianna Elder, Taylor Wike, Christina Krider, Amanada Sports and Cortlin Hartness) on the all-league team. Fred T. Foard, which will play in the Class 3A regional championship game Thursday night, had six players chosen (Lexi Shubert, Mackenzie Dziendziel, Addie Bolick, Olivia Purvis, Ashley Oliver, and Rebacca Rowe); St. Stephens, which lost to Franklin in the Class 3A regional semifinals last Friday, had five players selected (Vonna Wood, Calyn Davis, Makayla Carver, Molli Huffman and Katie Baker); South Caldwell (Rebecca Kale), Hibriten (Emma Tuttle) and Hickory (Katie Mathewson) each had one player selected to the all-conference team.
Chelsea Wilkinson of Alexander Central was named the Player of the Year. She also set a state record with 112 wins (112-6) in her career. Lexi Shubert of Fred T. Foard was named the Pitcher of the Year; Moria Brookshire of South Caldwell was named Coach of the Year.

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email