files/toyota.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
78°F | 61°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
80°F | 62°F | 20%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Proffitt, Greene Earn Top Honors PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Monday, 21 May 2012 08:09

Watauga High seniors Ethan Greene and Matt Proffitt were named the Northwestern 3A/4A Conference Pitcher and Player of the Year, respectively. Greene, who was 7-3 with two saves and a 2.09 earned-run-average,

shared Pitcher of the Year honors with Spencer Greer of South Caldwell; Greer threw a no-hitter against Hickory on March 16. Proffitt, who batted .350 with a team-leading three home runs, shares Player of the Year honors with Garrison Franklin of South Caldwell and Davis Hanvey of Hickory. Proffitt, who was the No.2 starter in WHS' rotation this season, was 6-2 with a pair of saves. He also handed South Caldwell its only loss in league play on April 20.
The Pioneers had six all-conference selections. Proffitt, Greene, Ryan Turner (.357 batting average, one home run, nine runs-batted-in, 27 runs scored, and seven stolen bases), Max Linnville (a team-leading .427 batting average, with two home runs, and 16 RBI), David Martin (.366, two home runs, 21 RBI, seven doubles, 26 runs scored, and ten stolen bases), and Ethan Critcher (.319, a team-leading 18 walks, two home runs and 15 RBI) earned all-league honors. Tyler Jones (.341, a team-leading eight doubles, two triples, 10 stolen bases and 15 RBI) was named honorable mention.
South Caldwell had a league-high seven all-conference selections (Franklin, Speer, Bryson Bowman, Tanner Dillard, Jake Macchia, Dylan Poarch, and Gage Parham); Hickory had four (Hanvey, Zach Jarrett, Ryan Garlow, Coan McAlpine); Hibriten (Ben Cogsdale, Cody Saunders, and Dylan Hamel) and St. Stephens (Luke Barton, Logan Gray, and Dylan Beiland) had three selections apiece; Alexander Central (Josh McLain) and Fred T. Foard (Brandon Owensby) each had one player selected to the all-conference team.
Jeff Parham of South Caldwell was named the Coach of the Year.

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email