High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
42°F | 61°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
39°F | 60°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Golf, Track All-NW3A/4A Teams Released PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Thursday, 17 May 2012 18:32

The all-conference teams have been announced in the Northwestern 3A/4A Conference for men's golf, men's and women's track. The WHS track teams (they were both conference champions) produced 23 all-conference selections. The women's team had 13, the men had ten. Darby Middlebrook was named the Runner of the Year in women's track; Randy

McDonough was named Coach of the Year in both men's and women's track. India McWorther of Alexander Central was named Field Event Athlete of the Year. Darby Middlebrook was named All-NW3A/4A in the women's 1,600-and 3,200-meter run. Taylor Drummonds was named all-NW3A/4A in four events, the women's pole vault, the 100 low hurdles and the 300 hurdles. She's also a member of the 4x100-meter relay team. WHS earned first-team honors in the 4x400 (Julia Robets, Hailey Middlebrook, Anna Shultz-Coulon, and Grace Plyler) relay. Hailey Middlebrooks was named All-NW3A/4A in the 800; Julia Roberts was named all-NW3A/4A in the 400.
Kenyon Hull (pole vault), Madison Harman (1,600, 3,200), Shultz-Coulon (400), Doria Kosmala (800), the 4x800 (Shelby Hickernell, Lynde Wangler, Haleigh Wallace, and Taylor Nelsen) and 4x100 (Hall, Drummonds, Margaret Anagnos, and Carrie Pennell) relay teams were all second-team selections.
On the men's side, Reid Harris, who has the school record in the pole vault with an effort of 15-feet, two-inches, was named all-NW3A/4A in the pole vault and the 100-meter dash. Harris has broken the school pole-vaulting record three times this season. Josh Anderson was named first team in the 1,600, Stephen Schmal was named first team in the 400, Bryan Brackney was first team in the 800 and Andrew VandenbergĀ  was first team in the 3,200. WHS was also named first team in the 4x800 (Bryan Brackney, Josh Anderson, Michael Holland and Luke Johnson) and the 4x400 (Brackney, Zaric Eisenburg, Harris and Ryan Hallanbrand) relays.
Max Ruble (pole vault), Zach Helms (110 hurdles), and the 4x100 (Schmal, Kyle Chambers, Zach Styron, and Harris) relay team were second-team selections. Lucas Harris of Fred T. Foard was the Runner of the Year; Cameron Stinson of Hickory was named theĀ Field Event Athlete of the Year.
The WHS track teams will be competing at the Class 4A State Championships at North Carolina A&T University in Greensboro on Saturday. The Pioneers will have nine qualifiers in the field. Harris and Ruble (both in the pole vaultz), Vandenberg (3,200) represent the men's team. Darby Middlebrook (1,600 and 3,200), Harman (3,200), Hailey Middlebrook (800), Tara Trivette (high jump), Drummonds (pole vault and the 100 hurdles) and the 4x800 relay team will represent the women.
The Watauga golf team did not have an all-conference selection. Alex Rhyne of Alexander Central was named the Player of the Year; Ben Hale of Hickory was named Coach of the Year.

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email