files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Sept2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
72°F | 53°F | 20%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
69°F | 53°F | 50%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Smith Named NW3A/4A Player Of Year PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Tuesday, 15 May 2012 11:15

Watauga High senior Michael Smith closed out his high school tennis career in strong fashion. He was 19-3 playing No.1 singles for the Pioneers, he won the singles championship in the Northwestern 3A/4A Conference by defeating his teammmate Harrrison Battle in the finals at South Caldwell, he was a regional finalist, and he made it to the quarterfinal round of

the Class 4A state tennis championships last weekend in Raleigh.
Well, add another notch on his belt. Smith has been named the Player of the Year in the NW3A/4A Conference. And Smith, who will continue his tennis career at Appalachian State University this fall, was also named an All-NW3A/4A Conference performer.
He was joined on the all-conference team by Harrison Battle, Landon Taylor and Chris Ludwig of the Pioneers. The Pioneers, who won the NW3A/4A Conference title with a perfect 12-0 record, were 16-2 in dual meets this season. They lost to Ardrey Kell in the opening round of the Class 4A dual-team state playoffs.
Donnie Pennell of Alexander Central was named the Coach of the Year. Pennell led the Cougars to a 6-6 league record (8-6 overall) this spring. The Cougars finished in a third-place tie with South Caldwell.
Hickory had three all-conference performer: Alex Arditti, Brad Bowman and Daniel May; South Caldwell and Alexander Central each had two player selected to the all-conference team.
Hayden Frank and Patrick Mangan werenamed  all-conference for the Spartans; Phillip Ferguson and Jackson Walsh were named all-conference for the Cougars. Jacob Stinson (Fred T. Foard), Paul Hogan (Hibriten), and John Luney (St. Stephens) round out the all-conference team.



Final Standings:

1.  Watauga 12-0; 16-2
2.  Hickory 10-2; 15-2
3.  South Caldwell 6-6; 9-7
3.  Alexander 6-6; 8-6
5.  Hibriten  4-8; 6-8
6.  St. StephenS 1-11    
6.  Fred T. FoarD 1-11; 1-14



Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email