files/MDTB-GBR490x110-May2015.jpg files/DeerfieldRidge_WebBanner3C.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
58°F | 77°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
60°F | 76°F | 50%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Five Bears Earn All-Independent Honors In Women's Lacrosse PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Wednesday, 02 May 2012 19:19

Five members of the Lenoir-Rhyne University Women's Lacrosse Team have earned NCAA Division II All-Independent honors including four on the first team. The first-team selections for the Bears were junior Sarah Minick (Marietta, Ga.) and freshmen Lauren Donovan (Hollywood, Md.), Madelyn Teel (Milton, Ga.) and Allison Senft (Marietta, Ga.). Meanwhile,

Lenoir-Rhyne freshman Mary Minick (Marietta, Ga.) was named to the All-Independent Second Team.
Sarah Minick led the squad in goals (45) and points scored (63) for the second straight year while Donovan was second on the team in goals (29) and points (56) in addition to a team-leading 27 assists.
Teel scored six goals and tallied 49 ground balls as an anchor of a Bears' defense which limited its opponents to just under 10 goals per match while Senft tallied 120 saves and 10 victories in goal for Lenoir-Rhyne.
Mary Minick was second on the team in goals with 42 and third in points with 47 and joined Donovan, Teel and Senft on the Independent All-Freshman Team as well.
Lenoir-Rhyne, in its second season as an intercollegiate program, finished 12-4 overall under second-year Head Coach Sue Reuschle including an 8-1 mark at home this past spring. Tiffin's Alexandria Quast was named the NCAA Division II All-Independent Women's Lacrosse Player Of The Year while Florida Southern's Kara Reber has been selected as the coach of the year.
The Division II Independent Women's Lacrosse awards were voted on by coaches who elected to participate in the selection process. Schools participating were Catawba College (N.C.), Florida Southern College, Grand Valley State University (Mich.), Lenoir-Rhyne University (N.C.), Newberry College (S.C.), Shepherd University (W. Va.), Tiffin University (Ohio) and Urbana University (Ohio).


2012 NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse
All-Independent Teams

Christina Ferrara, Shepherd
Georgia Karr, Shepherd
Mara Mason, Florida Southern
Sarah Minick, Lenoir-Rhyne
Alexandria Quast, Tiffin
Lauren Donovan, Lenoir-Rhyne
Megan Asper, Florida Southern
Nicole Ruane, Shepherd
Alyssa Ashcroft, Urbana
Katie Gladhill, Florida Southern
Madelyn Teel, Lenoir-Rhyne
Melissa Halstead, Florida Southern
Allison Senft, Lenoir-Rhyne
Jessica Bombard, Tiffin
*two-way tie for first team goalkeeper; no second team distinction

Elysse Braun, Tiffin
Katie Ferree, Florida Southern
Mary Minick, Lenoir-Rhyne
Victoria Devine, Grand Valley State
Ebony Mills, Catawba
Jordan Luberto, Grand Valley State
Krista Tippett, Shepherd
Lorianne Hoover, Florida Southern
Alexia O'Connor, Grand Valley State
Alyssa Neumen, Grand Valley State
Ashley Stoltenberg, Grand Valley State
Victoria Thomas, Newberry


All-Freshman Team
Alexis MacMillan, Tiffin
Allison Senft, Lenoir-Rhyne
Caitlin Chase, Florida Southern
Georgia Karr, Shepherd
Hannah Walters, Urbana
Jessica Bombard, Tiffin
Jordan Luberto, Grand Valley State
Katie Ferree, Florida Southern
Lauren Donovan, Lenoir-Rhyne
Lorianne Hoover, Florida Southern
Madelyn Teel, Lenoir-Rhyne
Mary Minick, Lenoir-Rhyne
Megan Asper, Florida Southern


Independent Player of the Year: Alexandria Quast, Tiffin
Independent Freshman of the Year: Megan Asper, Florida Southern
Independent Coach of the Year: Kara Reber, Florida Southern


Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email

GoBlueRidge Poll

Which song do you want to hear on The Highway?