files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Feb2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
16°F | 31°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
26°F | 41°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Realignment Finalized By NCHSAA PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Wednesday, 02 May 2012 12:56

The North Carolina High School Athletic Association has finalized its realignment plans for 2013-17. The NCHSAA put the issue to rest at its Board of Directors meeting on Tuesday. Watauga High will move into an eight-team

Class 3A/4A conference in the fall of 2013. WHS will paired with Freedom, Fred T. Foard, St. Stephens, South Caldwell, Hibriten, Patton, and Hickory. WHS and South Caldwell will be the only Class 4A schools in the league.
Alexander Central will move into an eight-team Class 3A/4A conference with West Iredell, South Iredell, North Iredell, Statesville, North Lincoln, Mooresville and Lake Norman. Alexander Central, Lake Norman and Mooresville will be the Class 4A schools in that league.
Ashe County will be in a league very similar to the Mountain Valley 1A/2A Conference. The Huskies will be paired in an eight-team 1A/2A league with North Wilkes, Wilkes Central, West Wilkes, East Wilkes, Starmount, Alleghany and Elkin. North Wilkes, West Wilkes and Wilkes Central, and the Huskies will be the Class 2A schools in the league.
Avery will be in a seven-team Class 1A/2A league with Mitchell, Hendersonville, Madison, Mountain Heritage, Owen and Polk County. Avery and Mitchell will be the only Class 1A schools in the league.

Conference 2C

Mitchell (1A)
Hendersonville (2A)
Madison (2A)
Mountain Heritage (2A)
Owen (2A)
Polk County (2A)

Conference 6C

North Wilkes (2A)
West Wilkes (2A)
Wilkes Central (2A)
Alleghany (1A)
Starmount (1A)
Elkin (1A)
East Wilkes (1A)

Conference 2C

South Caldwell (4A)
St. Stephens (3A)
Fred T. Foard (3A)
Freedom (3A)
Hibriten (3A)
Patton (3A)
Hickory (3A)

Conference 3C


Alexander Cenral (4A)
Mooresville (4A)
Lake Norman (4A)
Statesville (3A)
North Iredell (3A)
South Iredell (3A)
West Iredell (3A)
North Lincoln (3A)


Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email