files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
48°F | 72°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
51°F | 70°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Millwood Named SAC Tournament MVP PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Tuesday, 24 April 2012 06:36

Lenoir-Rhyne's Dawon Millwood has been named the 2012 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Softball Tournament Most Valuable Player, league officials announced today. Millwood was also one of four Bears to earn

all-tournament honors as L-R won its third straight league tournament title. In addition to Millwood, sophomore shortstop Jody Mizelle (Colerain, N.C.), freshman outfielder Brittany Coursen (Virginia Beach, Va.) and sophomore third baseman Haily Jarman (Wadesboro, N.C.) were also named to the conference all-tournament squad for the Bears.
Millwood, a senior from Hixson, Tenn., went 4-0 for the championship with a 1.08 earned run average, 12 strikeouts and two shutouts as Lenoir-Rhyne won its seventh Food Lion SAC Softball Tournament in school history.
Mizelle provided the highlight of the tournament with a walk-off home run to lead off the bottom of the seventh inning in Lenoir-Rhyne's 4-3 win over Anderson Sunday afternoon in the title game. Mizelle batted .462 for the tournament with two home runs and three runs batted in.
Coursen had the highest batting average for any player in the tournament (.636) to go along with three RBI while Jarman finished with a .400 batting average as well.
Lenoir-Rhyne (46-11), ranked No. 21 in NCAA Division II and third in the latest Southeast Regional Poll, will now await a bid to the national tournament. The pairings will be announced next Monday, April 30.


2012 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference

Softball All-Tournament Team
Amber Duncan, Anderson (P/INF)
Bri Cason, Anderson (INF)
Rachel Rhodes, Anderson (OF)
Bri Shoemake, Carson-Newman (C)
Mary Shealy, Carson-Newman (P/1B)
Ali Justice, Catawba (1B)
Amanda Terry, Catawba (OF)
Tara Gibbs, Catawba (C)
Brittany Coursen, Lenoir-Rhyne (OF)
Dawon Millwood, Lenoir-Rhyne (P)
Haily Jarman, Lenoir-Rhyne (3B)
Jody Mizelle, Lenoir-Rhyne (INF)
Natalie Haithcox, Mars Hill (INF)


MVP - Dawon Millwood, Lenoir-Rhyne

Photo Courtesy: Dawon Millwood, L-R Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email