files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Sept2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 53°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
58°F | 44°F | 70%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
ASU Women’s Golf Wraps Up Fifth At SoCon Tourney PDF Print
Written by Charles Cochrum   
Wednesday, 18 April 2012 07:52

A strong finish on Tuesday helped Appalachian State University women’s golf power into a fifth-place finish at the Southern Conference Championship Tournament. The Mountaineers carded a

329-309-313=951 (+87) to pick up the program’s best finish since earning fourth place in 2002.
Junior Rumbidzai Masamvu (Harare, Zimbabwe/Dominican Convent) led Appalachian with a fifth-place finish at 85-73-74=232 (+16). The Zimbabwe native holed seven birdies, including three in Tuesday’s final round.
Redshirt junior Lauren Smith (Salisbury, N.C./UNCG) followed with a 78-79-80=237 (+21) to tie for 14th place, while classmate Yue Xu (Beijing, China/HuiJia Private School) carded an 83-77-78=238 (+22) to place 18th.
A fourth junior, Mimi Burke (Mooresville, N.C./Cannon School), took home 29th place with an 83-80-81=244 (+28), while the squad’s lone competing senior, Brittany Zachrich (Hickory, N.C./Montreat), claimed a tie for 47th place. She shot a 90-90-85=265 (+49) over the 54-hole event.
After jumping from sixth place to second on Monday, Chattanooga rode its momentum to claim its third-straight title with a 921 (+57), three strokes ahead of UNCG.
UTC’s Jordan Britt won the individual medal at 222 (+6), defeating second-place Fanny Cnops of UNCG by three strokes.
College of Charleston placed third with a 939 (+75) and Furman narrowly edged ASU for fourth place with a 950 (+86). Western Carolina finished in sixth, two strokes behind the Mountaineers, while Elon followed with a 960 (+96) in seventh place. Samford, Wofford and The Citadel rounded out the field of 10 teams.
Appalachian’s fifth-place marks the program’s best mark at the event since the field expanded beyond seven teams in 2003. ASU placed fourth (out of seven teams) in 2002.
Cnops swept the Player of the Year and Freshman of the year honors, and her coach, Emily Marron, picked up Coach of the Year honors to give the Spartans a sweep of the all-conference honors. ASU did not place any players on the all-SoCon team or all-freshman team.


ASU Men’s Golf Lands In Sixth-Place Tie At SoCon Tournament


Sophomore Casey Komline (Dorset, Vt./Burr and Burton Academy) carded a 74-75-72=221 (+5) to place 14th and lead Appalachian State University men’s golf to a tie for sixth place at the Southern Conference Tournament. The Mountaineers carded a 300-302-295=897 (+33), while Komline earned a place on the all-conference team and carded one of three Eagles at the tournament. Senior Darren Cook (Boone, N.C./Watauga) followed closely behind with a 70-76-76=222 (+6) to tie for 15th place with nine Birdies. Graduate student Dustin Hudson (Hildebran, N.C./East Burke) fired a 79-75-72=226 (+10) to tie for 27th place. His 42 pars tied for the fourth-most in the field of 55 golfers.
Junior Josh Nichols (Kernersville, N.C./Salem Baptist Christian) tied for 40th place with a 77-79-75=231 (+15), while freshman Jason Woodall (Yanceyville, N.C./The Elon School) rounded out the group with an 82-76-79=237 (+21) in 52nd place. Chattanooga rallied from a slow start at Ralston Creek to win the team title at 861 (-3), a whopping 19 strokes ahead of second-place Georgia Southern, which won the 2011 title.
College of Charleston (882), Wofford (887) and Samford (889) edged out ASU for third, fourth and fifth place, respectively. The Apps share sixth place with Furman. Elon placed eighth at 905 (+41), followed by Davidson, Western Carolina and UNCG.
UTC’s Stephan Jaeger won the individual title at 207 (-9), 11 strokes ahead of teammate Chris Robb and Wofford’s Brannan Hudson in second place. Jaeger claimed Player of the Year honors and his his coach, Mark Guhne, earned Coach of the Year accolades. GSU’s Scott Wolfes was named Freshman of the Year.


All-Conference Team
Casey Komline, Appalachian State
Richard Fountain, Davidson
John Skeadas, Davidson
Austin Reeves, Furman
Lewis Gruber, Georgia Southern
Scott Wolfes, Georgia Southern
Drew Aimone, Samford
Casey O’Toole, Samford
Steven Fox, Chattanooga
Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga (Player of the Year)


All-Freshman Team
Shane Rogan, College of Charleston
Zach Hartman, Georgia Southern
Scott Wolfes, Georgia Southern (Freshman of the Year)
Alex Ehlert, UNCG
JT Poston, Western Carolina


Coach of the Year
Mark Guhne, Chattanooga

Photo Courtesy: Rumbidzai Masamvu, ASU Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email