High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
57°F | 44°F | 70%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
64°F | 45°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Sealey, Culler Earn All-SAC Honors PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Friday, 02 March 2012 08:19

Lenoir-Rhyne's Cameron Sealey and Whitley Culler have both garnered 2011-12 All-South Atlantic Conference accolades in Women's Basketball, league officials announced today as the part of its

annual award winners. Sealey, a senior guard from Mount Holly, N.C., earned all-conference honors for the third straight year including the second season in a row as a member of the All-SAC First Team.
Sealey leads Lenoir-Rhyne in scoring (16.1 ppg), free throw percentage (.795), steals (45) and three-pointers made (41) this year. In addition, Sealey is second in rebounding (5.6 rpg) and third in assists (64) in 2011-12 for the Bears.
Sealey, a four-year starter, is currently sixth on Lenoir-Rhyne's all-time scoring list with 1,473 points and ranks second in school history in free throw percentage (.796).
Culler, a junior guard from Mount Airy, N.C., garnered all-league honors for the first time in her career and was named to the All-SAC Second Team this year. Culler is second on the squad in scoring (13.8 ppg) to go along with a team-leading 8.0 rebounds per outing. Culler has also tallied eight double-doubles this year.
Jazmine Charles, a guard from Lexington, N.C., was named to the 2011-12 South Atlantic Conference All-Freshman Team. Charles is third on the squad in scoring this season at 9.5 points per game and ranks second in three-pointers made with 30.
Lenoir-Rhyne, at 19-9 on the season, will now await word to see if it earns a trip to the NCAA Division II Southeast Regional Tournament. In the latest regional rankings, the Bears were seventh as the top eight schools punch a ticket to the playoffs.


2011-12 All-South Atlantic Conference
Women's Basketball Teams


Nikki Burton, Wingate
Dana Hicks, Catawba
Nisha Long, Catawba
Dayshalee Salaman, Lincoln Memorial
Cameron Sealey, Lenoir-Rhyne
Zoriah Williams, Carson-Newman


Kendal Baxter, Tusculum
Lauren Cochran, Linoln Memorial
Whitley Culler, Lenoir-Rhyne
Alissa Diaz, Anderson
Staci Hicks, Tusculum
Haylee Lepaio, Newberry


Armeka Booker, Mars Hill
Chloe Bully, Catawba
Jazmine Charles, Lenoir-Rhyne
Haylee Lepaio, Newberry
Sierra Simpson, Anderson


SAC Player of the Year: Dana Hicks, Catawba
SAC Freshman of the Year: Haylee Lepaio, Newberry
SAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kristen Metcalf, Mars Hill
SAC Coach of the Year: Angie Morton, Catawba


Photo Courtesy: Cameron Sealey, LRU Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email