files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 53°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
58°F | 44°F | 70%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Pioneers Staying Put PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Thursday, 16 February 2012 13:58

It's not etched in stone. At least not yet, but it's looking more and more like Watauga High will be placed in an eight-team conference that features five schools (St. Stephens, South Caldwell, Hibriten, Fred T. Foard and Hickory) that are currenty members of the Northwestern 3A/4A Conference, an old familiar foe

in Freedom, and Patton High School. The Pioneers and South Caldwell would be the only Class 4A schools in this newly proposed conference.
Alexander Central, which is currently a member of the NW3A/4A Conference, would be placed in an eight-team, split conference that would include North Iredell, South Iredell, West Iredell, Statesville, North Lincoln, Mooresville and Lake Norman. The Cougars, Mooresville and Lake Norman would be the only Class 4A schools in that league.
Ironically, this same proposal was presented by the realignment committee in early January. Ashe County would primarily be placed in a league that very much resembles the Mountain Valley 1A/2A Conference. The Huskies would be grouped with North Wilkes, West Wilkes, East Wilkes, Wilkes Central, Alleghany, Starmount and Elkin. Ashe County, North Wilkes, West Wilkes and Wilkes Central would be the Class 2A schools in that split 1A/2A league.
Avery finds itself in quite an interesting scenario. The Vikings could possibly be teamed up in a six-team, split 1A/2A league that features West Caldwell, Draughn, East Burke, Mountain Heritage and Mitchell.
The Realignment Committee had a lengthy meeting on Wednesday in Chapel Hill discussing these issues. The committee, consisting of superintendents, principals, athletic directors,coaches and former members, gathered all of its information from the realignment regional meetings, letters and emails from schools and school systems, and conversations school officials have had with various members of the committee as they deliberated the matter and possible further steps it might have to take concerning final realignment that will be announced in May. Realignment will officially take place in August of 2013.
The deadline for schools to respond in writing about this draft is March 1, 2012. Letters should be sent only if there is a concern about conference placement, and the letter should contain a solution to the concern that does not leave any schools out. Schools should also express a desire to appeal to the committee in person if they wish. The date for appeals to the Realignment Committee will be March 15, 2012.


2013 Realignment

3A/4A Realignment

Conference 2:

South Caldwell
Fred T. Foard (3A)
Freedom (3A)
Hibriten (3A)
Hickory (3A)
Patton (3A)
St. Stephens (3A)


Conference 3:

Alexander Central
Lake Norman
North Iredell (3A)
North Lincoln (3A)
South Iredell (3A)
Statesville (3A)
West Iredell (3A)


1A/2A Realignment


Conference 5:


East Burke
Mountain Heritage
West Caldwell
Avery (1A)
Mitchell (1A)


Conference 6:

Ashe County
North Wilkes
West Wilkes
Wilkes Central
Alleghany (1A)
East Wilkes (1A)
Elkin (1A)
Starmount (1A)




Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email