High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
42°F | 61°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
39°F | 60°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Bears Place Five On 2011 Don Hansen All-Region Teams PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Friday, 06 January 2012 15:10

Five members of the Lenoir-Rhyne University Football Team have earned 2011 Don Hansen's NCAA Division II All-Super Region Two honors

with three players making the first team.
Redshirt freshman fullback Isaiah Whitaker (Salisbury, N.C.), senior offensive lineman Chandler Rearden (Greenwood, S.C.) and senior placekicker Colin Corpe (Ocala, Fla.) were all selected to the all-region first team.
In addition, sophomore Michael Green (Kingsland, Ga.) was named to the second team as a safety and the third team as a return specialist while junior linebacker Demetrius Green (Cedartown, Ga.) garnered third-team all-region accolades.
Whitaker finished second on the team in rushing (815 yards) and touchdowns scored (six) en route to 2011 All-SAC Second-Team honors.
Rearden, one of the most decorated offensive linemen in school history, is a two-time NCAA Division II All-American (2010 and 2011) who won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy for the second straight year this fall. The award is given annually to the top offensive lineman in the South Atlantic Conference.
Rearden, a three-time first-team All-SAC selection (2008, 2010-11), helped the Bears finish third in the nation in rushing this season at 287.1 yards per game.
Corpe earned first-team all-conference honors for the second time this season after leading the league in field goals made (a school-record 14). Corpe finished his Lenoir-Rhyne career as the school's all-time leader in field goals (45) and points for a kicker (264).
Michael Green finished second on the team in tackles (63) while leading the squad in interceptions with three this fall. Michael Green also led the SAC in punt return average (18.0) and returned two punts for scores in 2011. Green earned all-league accolades as a defensive back and return specialist as well this past season.
Demetrius Green led Lenoir-Rhyne in takedowns (77) en route to 2011 South Atlantic Conference Defensive Player-Of-The-Year honors. Green, a two-time first-team all-conference pick (2010-11), anchored a unit which led the league in scoring defense (22.6) and total defense (284.4 ypg).
The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen's National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988. Don Hansen's Football Gazette began selecting Division II All-Region squads in 2003.
The first-team and second-team All-Region selections advance to a national ballot from which the 2011 Don Hansen NCAA

Division II All-America team will be named later this month.
2011 Don Hansen's NCAA Division II
All-Super Region 2 Football Teams


QB - Micah Davis, Delta State
FB - Isaiah Whitaker, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB - David Carter, Morehouse
RB - Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill
WR - Raphael Amey, Kentucky State
WR - Chris Bowden, Wingate
WR - Mo William, North Alabama
TE - Josh Crumpton, Mars Hill
AP - Denarius Appling, West Georgia
C - Darrell Leopold, Delta State
OG - Edmund Kugbila, Valdosta State
OG - Kyle Thornton, North Alabama
OT - Tyler Hodgson, Mars Hill
OT - Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne
PK - Colin Corpe, Lenoir-Rhyne


DE - Zeke Andrews, Carson-Newman
DE - Terrence Smith, Tusculum
DE - Darel Strong, Clark Atlanta
DG/DT - Jeremy Hall, Stillman
DG/DT - Robbie Mayers, Delta State
LB - Marcus Dowtin, North Alabama
LB - Jamarkus Gaskins, Albany State
LB - Deon Lacey, West Alabama
LB - Prince Simunyu, Brevard
S - Harrison Dreiling, Valdosta State
S - Rashad McRae, Albany State
CB - Dominique Davenport, Delta State
CB - Justin Oliver, Morehouse
P - Marquette King, Fort Valley State
RS - Janoris Jenkins, North Alabama


QB - Lee Chapple, North Alabama
QB - Willy Korn, North Greenville
FB - Jake Woerner, Brevard
RB - Travis Daniels, North Carolina-Pembroke
RB - Matthew Willis, West Alabama
WR - Rashaad Carter, Tusculum
WR - Chance Dennis, Delta State
WR - Deonte Gist, Tusculum
WR - Christopher Slaughter, Fort Valley State
TE - Brandon Ellington, Wingate
TE - Jovan Washington, Kentucky State
AP - Brandon Lucas, Delta State
C - Jamie Dixon, North Alabama
OG - Nick Allison, Mars Hill
OG - Jessie Mitchell, Kentucky State
OT - Mike Arndt, Wingate
OT - Ryan Schraeder, Valdosta State
OT - Mesh Wokomaty, Valdosta State
PK - Davis Brackett, West Georgia


DE - Kyle Hurt, Lane
DE - Mark Hoskins, Delta State
DE - Kevin Johnson, Mars Hill
DG/DT - Chigbo Anunoby, Morehouse
DG/DT - C.J. Barksdale, Catawba
DG/DT - Lawrence Virgil, Valdosta State
LB - Courtney Daniels, Fort Valley State
LB - Apollo Stretch, Newberry
LB - Ixavier Triplett, Delta State
LB - Fred Williams, North Carolina-Pembroke
S - Tyren Futch, Lane
S - Michael Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
S - Tyrell Kinder, Miles
S - Jamarius Robinson, North Greenville
CB - Marvin James, Mars Hill
CB - Janoris Jenkins, North Alabama
CB - Dwight Tillman, Delta State
P - Andrew Jones, Delta State
P - Eric Watts, Brevard
P - Jack Fulford, Valdosta State
P - Ronnie Partridge, Stillman
RS - DeMario Barber, Fort Valley State


QB - Luke Charles, North Carolina-Pembroke
RB - Nate Inman, Carson-Newman
RB - Teryan Rucker, North Greenville
WR - Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
WR - Tristan Purifoy, North Alabama
WR - Ronnie Tubbs, Albany State
WR - Gerald Worsham, West Alabama
WR - Freddie Martino, Jr., North Greenville
TE - Cody Harrington, North Carolina-Pembroke
AP - Kelvin Jeter, Brevard
C - Chase Gamble, Newberry
C - Marlon Jones, Morehouse
OG - Andy Nations, West Alabama
OG - Chase Sherman, Delta State
OT - Kendall Hunter, Delta State
OT - Lamar Young, Delta State
PK - Taylor Baskett, North Carolina-Pembroke


DE - Justin Blash, Albany State
DE - Anthony Daniels, Delta State
DE - Josh Lewis, West Alabama
DE - Emanuel Williams, Fort Valley State
DG/DT - Cedric Hall, North Alabama
DG/DT - Jamaa Massaline, Benedict
DG/DT - Mark Smith, North Greenville
LB - Demetrius Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB - Cory Jones, Lane
LB - Lakeem Perry, Catawba
LB - Rudy Cabral, Mars Hill
S - Ricky Johnson, Fort Valley State
S - Nick Rosamonda, North Greenville
CB - Jereme Green, North Greenville
CB - Isaiah Johnson, North Greenville
CB - Matt Pierce, Valdosta State
CB - Jumal Rolle, Catawba
RS - Michael Green, Lenoir-Rhyne

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email