files/MDSB-GBR490x110-March2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
12°F | 36°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
22°F | 49°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Written by Staff Reports   
Friday, 06 January 2012 14:13

New Hampshire junior linebacker Matt Evans kept busy throughout the entire regular season, leading the Football Championship Subdivision with

154 tackles and 88 solo stops.
Evans was rewarded for all his stops as he was named the 2011 Buck Buchanan Award winner, which honors the outstanding defensive player in the FCS, is presented by The Sports Network and sponsored by
Defensive tackle Brent Russell of Georgia Southern was sixth in the voting. Kadarron Anderson of Furman was 12th, Ryan Steed of the Paladins was 18th, and Wes Dothard of Chattanooga was tied for 25th in the voting.




Rob Ambrose of Towson has turned the Tigers around this season. Towson put together a 9-3 record, winning an outright CAA title and hosting a game in the second round of the FCS playoffs.
Having guided his team to new heights, Ambrose was honored as the 2011 Eddie Robinson Award recipient, given annually to the FCS Coach of the Year. The Sports Network presents and sponsors the award.
Ambrose is the 25th recipient of the award, which is named for legendary Grambling State head coach Eddie Robinson, the second- winningest coach in Division I history with 408 victories.
Now in his third season as a head coach, it was rocky at first for Ambrose, a Towson alumnus, as his teams struggled to 2-9 and 1-10 finishes in his first two seasons.
Jeff Monken of Georgia Southern was eighth in the voting.




Terrance West of Towson was honored with the inaugural Jerry Rice Award, which is awarded to the outstanding freshman in the FCS. The Sports Network presents and sponsors the award.
A Baltimore native, West didn't earn a scholarship until halfway through his superb season and before that the talented freshman struggled to even find a place to play, at times nearly going to Clemson, Maryland and Morgan State.
The 5-foot-11, 222-pound freshman ran for 27 touchdowns this season, which was tops at the FCS (Football Championship Sub-Division) level.
West was a runaway winner of the award, receiving 89 of the 132 first- place votes, 74 more than Old Dominion quarterback Taylor Heinicke, who finished second in the balloting.
Terrell Robinson of Chattanooga and Dominique Swope of Georgia Southern were 21st and 22nd in the voting, respectively.


Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email