files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 48°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
72°F | 52°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Breitenstein Named First-Team All-America PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Monday, 19 December 2011 15:27

Running back Eric Breitenstein has been named a first-team All-America by The Sports Network.
Breitenstein, who graduated from Watauga High School in 2008, is the

only repeat performer named to the first team. The red-shirt junior ran for 1,363 yards and scored 16 touchdowns for the Terriers this season. He was also named the Southern Conference pre-season and post-season Offensive Player of the Year.
Overall, the SoCon had 14 players from seven teams chosen to the TSN All-America team, the most of any conference in the country. Appalachian State had three players selected, wide receiver Brian Quick and linebacker Jeremy Kimbrough were named to the second team; offensive lineman Orry Frye was a third-team selection.
Quick, the all-time leader in receiving yards, touchdown receptions and receptions, caught 71 passes for 1,096 yards and 11 touchdowns. It's Quick's second All-America selection this season. He was named to the American Football Coaches Association All-America team.
Kimbrough, a junior, turned into one of ASU's most consistent performers on defense this season. He was ASU's leading tackler with 105 stops, including 43 solo tackles. Kimbrough also had 12 tackles-for-loss, four quarterback sacks, an interception and recovered two fumbles.
Frye was named to the SoCon All-Academic Team, and he was also a first-team All-SoCon selection this season.






FIRST-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Bo Levi Mitchell, Eastern Washington, Sr., or Chris Lum, Lehigh, Sr.; RB - Shakir Bell, Indiana State, So.; Terrance West, Towson, Fr.; FB - Eric Breitenstein, Wofford, Jr.; WR - Aaron Mellette, Elon, Jr.; Nicholas Edwards, Eastern Washington, Jr.; Ryan Spadola, Lehigh, Jr.; TE - Colin Anderson, Furman, Jr.; OT - Chris Crockett, Sam Houston State, Sr.; Brett Moore, Georgia Southern, Sr.; OG - Gino Gradkowski, Delaware, Sr.; Nate Page, Wofford, Sr.; C - Travis Watson, Sam Houston State, Sr.; PK - Zach Brown, Portland State, Sr.; KR - Kevin Fogg, Liberty, Jr.


FIRST-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Adrian Hamilton, Prairie View A&M, Sr.; Andrew Schaetzke, Georgetown, Sr.; DT - Ronnie Cameron, Old Dominion, Sr.; Brent Russell, Georgia Southern, Jr.; LB - Wes Dothard, Chattanooga, So.; Matt Evans, New Hampshire, Jr.; L.J. Fort, Northern Iowa, Sr.; Caleb McSurdy, Montana, Sr.; CB - Bryce Robertson, Bucknell, Sr.; Marcus Williams, North Dakota State, So.; S - Kejuan Riley, Alabama State, Jr.; Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State, Jr.; P - David Harrington, Idaho State, Sr.; C.J. Estelle, UT Martin, Sr.


SECOND-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Bo Levi Mitchell, Eastern Washington, Sr., or Chris Lum, Lehigh, Sr.; RB - Tim Flanders, Sam Houston State, So.; Jonathan Grimes, William & Mary, Sr.; FB - Jake Romanelli, Cal Poly, Sr.; WR - Tim Benford, Tennessee Tech, Sr.; Brian Quick, Appalachian State, Sr.; Rodrick Rumble, Idaho State, Jr.; TE - Kyle Juszczyk, Harvard, Jr.; OT - Paul Cornick, North Dakota State, Sr.; Blake Matthews, Norfolk State, Jr.; OG - D.J. Hall, Texas State, Sr.; J.C. Oram, Weber State, Sr.; C - Bryan Boemer, Southern Illinois, Sr.; PK - Tyler Sievertsen, Northern Iowa, So.; KR - Laron Scott, Georgia Southern, Sr.


SECOND-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Ryan Davis, Bethune-Cookman, Sr.; Willie Jefferson, Stephen F. Austin, So.; DT - Ben Boothby, Northern Iowa, Sr.; Zach Minter, Montana State, Jr.; LB - Seth Allison, Central Arkansas, Jr.; Jeremy Kimbrough, Appalachian State, Jr.;  Blake Pfeifer, SE Missouri State, So.; Keith Pough, Howard, Jr.; CB - Trumaine Johnson, Montana, Sr.; Josh Norman, Coastal Carolina, Sr.; S - Justin Bethel, Presbyterian, Sr.; Alex Sewall, Indiana State, Sr.; P - Jonathan Plisco, Old Dominion, Jr.; PR - Darius Carey, McNeese State, Jr.


THIRD-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Casey Brockman, Murray State, Jr.; RB - Jordan Brown, Bryant, Jr.; Miguel Maysonet, Stony Brook, Jr.; FB - Brock Lough, Indiana State, Sr.; WR - Tre Gray, Richmond, Sr.; Chris Summers, Liberty, Sr.; Patrick Walker, Northern Colorado, Sr.; TE - Renty Rollins, Jackson State, Sr.; OT - Conrad Burbank, Montana State, Sr.; Tom Compton, South Dakota, Sr.; Orry Frye, Appalachian State, Sr.; OG - Joe Faiella, Stony Brook, Sr.; Scott Schweitzer, Tennessee Tech, Sr.; C - Jim Liebler, Lehigh, Sr.; PK - Adrian Mora, Georgia Southern, Sr.; KR - Austin Minefee, Southern Utah, Sr.


THIRD-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Corey Hart, Alabama A&M, Sr.; Ben Obaseki, Indiana State, Jr.; DT - Emory Attig, Eastern Kentucky, Jr.; Josue Ortiz, Harvard, Sr.; LB - Rico Council, Tennessee State, Sr.; Jody Owens, Montana State, Jr.; Alvin Scioneaux, Wofford, Jr.; A.J. Storms, Idaho State, Sr.; CB - Asa Jackson, Cal Poly, Sr.; Ryan Steed, Furman, Sr.; S - Jose Gumbs, Monmouth, Sr.; Serge Kona, Duquesne, Jr.; P - Patrick Murray, Fordham, Jr.; PR - Jabin Sambrano, Montana, Sr.


Note: The order of the first- and second-team All-America quarterbacks will be released after the unveiling of the 2011 Walter Payton Award on Jan. 6.


Photo Courtesy: Eric Breitenstein, SoCon Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email