files/toyota.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
61°F | 71°F | 40%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
61°F | 73°F | 30%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Mitchell Named Scholar Athlete of the Year PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Saturday, 10 December 2011 23:06

Lees-McRae College junior Megan Mitchell (Minden, Nev.) has been named the 2011 Conference Carolinas Women's Volleyball Scholar Athlete of the Year for the first tim

 in her career, announced league officials earlier this week.
Lees-McRae (27-9) posted its second consecutive undefeated record in conference play, running the table with an 18-0 mark against league opponents en route to the program's 13th Conference Carolinas regular season championship in the last 14 years. The Bobcats have now won a conference-record 49 straight matches in league play, while also advancing to the NCAA Tournament for the 12th time in school history.
Mitchell put together another impressive season for the Bobcats this fall, leading the team and the conference in assists per set (9.76), while ranking second in the league and 11th in the nation in aces per set (0.63). A native of Minden, Nev., Mitchell recorded a career-high 1,210 assists this season to become the program's all-time leader with 3,347 helpers, while also needing just nine service aces to pass Megan Epperson for the career lead in that category.
The junior setter earned first-team all-conference honors for the second straight season this fall, while also becoming the first player in program history to net Capital One Academic all-District III recognition.
Lees-McRae is expected to return 10 letter-winners from this season's Conference Carolinas regular season and tournament championship squad, including Sariah Suryadevara (Cincinnati, Ohio), the league's Co-Freshman of the Year.


Photo Courtesy: Megan Mitchell, LMC Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email