High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
69°F | 53°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
58°F | 44°F | 70%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Four LRU Players Earn All-Region Honors PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Friday, 09 December 2011 23:43

Four members of the Lenoir-Rhyne University Women's Soccer Team were named to the 2011 NSCAA NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region Teams. NSCAA is the

National Soccer Coaches Association of America.
Senior defender Catherine Hauck (Lake Mary, Fla.) and junior midfielder Carley Griffin (Fresno, Calif.) earned first-team honors while senior midfielder Laura Linehan (San Diego, Calif.) was named to the second team and senior defender Kaelia Frazier (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) garnered third-team accolades.
Hauck was named to the Daktronics NCAA Division II All-American First Team last week in addition to being named the 2010 South Atlantic Conference and Daktronics Southeast Region Player Of The Year last month.
Hauck finished second on the team in goals (11) and points (26) this season and tallied 31 goals and 70 points for her career.
Hauck is a two-time First-Team All-American and SAC Player Of The Year (2010-11) who also garnered all-league and all-region honors all four seasons with the Bears.
Griffin, in her first season with Lenoir-Rhyne in 2011, also scored 11 goals for the Bears en route to First-Team All-South Atlantic Conference accolades.
Linehan led the Bears in goals (12), assists (six) and points (30) this fall and finished her collegiate career ranked second on Lenoir-Rhyne's all-time list in goals (47) and points scored (112). Linehan is a three-time all-conference and all-region honoree as well.
Frazier finished with a goal, four assists and six points this year and anchored an L-R defense which allowed just 22 goals and 21 matches including seven shutouts. Frazier has earned All-South Atlantic Conference honors the past two seasons.
All four players led Lenoir-Rhyne (17-3-1, 9-0) to its second consecutive South Atlantic Conference Regular Championship including the first league title outright in 2011. The Bears also advanced to the NCAA Division II Sweet Sixteen for the second straight year this fall.


2011 NSCAA NCAA Division II
All-Southeast Region Women's Soccer Teams
First Team
GK - Lyndsey McIntyre, Sr., Mount Olive
D - Kansas Bayly, So., Columbus State
D - Catherine Hauck, Sr., Lenoir-Rhyne
D - Kelli Bahr, Sr., Armstrong Atlantic State
D - Mary Dorn, Sr., Lees-McRae
MF - Stephanie Lowry, Sr., Columbus State
MF - Morgan Mitchell, Jr., Armstrong Atlantic State
MF - Carley Griffin, Jr., Lenoir-Rhyne
F - Kristina Pascutti, Jr. Armstrong Atlantic State
F - Emily Dover, Sr., North Georgia
F - Jamie Shaw, Jr., Lander
F - Ashley Alderin-Fleagle, Sr., Limestone


Second Team
GK - Britney Bennett, So., UNC Pembroke
D - Fanny Forsman, Jr., UNC Pembroke
D - Kayla Brown, Jr., Columbus State
D - Lauren Lanham, So., Limestone
D - Carly Kensinger, Sr., Belmont Abbey
MF - Andye Dawson, So., Armstrong Atlantic State
MF - Laura Linehan, Sr., Lenoir-Rhyne
MF - Leanne Reid, Sr., Lincoln Memorial
MF - Kelly Penston, So., North Georgia
MF - Natalie Douglass, Sr., North Georgia
F - Tramicka James, Jr., Tusculum
F - Lindsey Zullo, Jr., Flagler
F - Mary Beth Sullivan, So., Lees-McRae
F - Kiana Nicholson, Fr., Columbus State


Third Team
GK - Mary Mancin, Jr., Columbus State
GK - Marissa Williams, Fr., Tusculum
D - Kaelia Frazier, Sr., Lenoir-Rhyne
D - Cassy Smith, Jr., Newberry
D - Danielle Shaw, So., Lander
D - Kristin Rosato, Sr., Montevallo
MF - Nicole Voets, Sr., Belmont Abbey
MF - Lauren Vawter, Sr., Queens
MF - Catherine Lovin, Jr. Columbus State
MF - Brooke Santerre, Sr., Lees-McRae
F - Nadima Skeff, Jr., Armstrong Atlantic State
F - Trenna Howell, Sr., Carson Newman
F - Morgan Shelton, Sr., King
F - Christina Barbour, Sr., Lander



Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email