High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
53°F | 56°F | 60%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
46°F | 64°F | 20%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
NCHSAA Releases Second Realignment Draft PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Friday, 09 December 2011 16:11

The North Carolina High School Athletic Association released its second preliminary

realignment draft Friday afternoon.
In the first draft that came out in early December, Watauga High was placed in a potential six-team Class 4A conference that included Alexander Central, South Caldwell, McDowell, Lake Norman and T.C. Roberson. But travel issues concerning the distance between Lake Norman and T.C. Roberson nixed that possibility.
Well, in the draft released Friday, the Pioneers now find themselves possibly in a split conference that would included just two Class 4A teams, consisting of themselves and South Caldwell.
The eight-team league is geographically convenient for all the member schools. The rest of the list includes six Class 3A schools: Freedom, Patton, Hibriten, Hickory, St. Stephens and Fred T. Foard. All those schools, with the exception of Freedom and Patton, are currently members of the Northwestern 3A/4A Conference.

Alexander Central, a current member of the NW3A/4A Conference, would be placed in a Class 3A/4A Conference with Mooresville, Lake Norman, North Iredell, South Iredell, West Iredell, Statesville and North Lincoln.
Ashe County remains a Class 2A school and will possibly moved into a conference, which is a carbon-copy of the current Mountain Valley 1A/2A Conference. As of right now, the Huskies would be paired with North Wilkes, East Wilkes, West Wilkes, Wilkes Central, Starmount, Elkin and Alleghany.
For Avery, the scenario is a little different. The Vikings, who are currently in the Western Highlands 1A/2A Conference, could possibly moved into a six-team Class 1A/2A conference that would include Mitchell, Draughn, East Burke, Mountain Heritage and West Caldwell.
The NCHSAA will release its next-to-last draft for realignment in January; the final and official draft will be released in May. Realignment officially takes place in August of 2013. The new realignment period runs through 2017.




South Caldwell (4A)
Watauga (4A)
Fred T. Foard (3A)
Freedom (3A)
Hibriten (3A)
Hickory (3A)
St. Stephens (3A)
Patton (3A)


Class 2A


Ashe County (2A)
North Wilkes (2A)
Wilkes Central (2A)
West Wilkes (2A)
Alleghany (1A)
East Wilkes (1A)
Elkin (1A)
Starmount (1A)


Class 1A


Avery (1A)
Mitchell (1A)
East Burke (2A)
Mountain Heritage (2A)
Draughn (2A)
West Caldwell (2A)




Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email