files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Sept2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
59°F | 52°F | 80%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
64°F | 48°F | 30%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Four LRU Players Earn All-Region Accolades PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Wednesday, 30 November 2011 16:51

Four members of the Lenoir-Rhyne University Football Team earned 2011 NCAA Division II Daktronics All-Super Region 2 honors including three players on the first team.
Senior offensive lineman Chandler Rearden (Greenwood, S.C.), senior placekicker Colin Corpe (Ocala, Fla.) and sophomore safety Michael Green (Kingsland, Ga.) were all named to the

first team while junior linebacker Demetrius Green (Cedartown, Ga.) garnered second-team accolades.
Rearden was named to the all-region first team for the second straight year.  Rearden, a 2010 All-American, just won his second consecutive Jacobs Blocking Trophy as well.  The trophy is given annually to the top offensive lineman in the South Atlantic Conference.  Rearden is also a three-time all-conference first-team pick (2008, 2010-11).
Corpe, a two-time All-SAC First-Team selection (2008 and 2011), set a school record for field goals in a season in 2011 with 14 and finished his career as Lenoir-Rhyne's all-time leader in field goals (45) and points for a kicker with 264.
Michael Green finished second on the squad in tackles in 2011 with 63 to go along with a team-high three interceptions.  An outstanding return man as well, Michael Green returned two punts for touchdowns this fall and earned all-leagues honors as both a defensive back (first team) and a return specialist (second team) this year.
Demetrius Green was named the South Atlantic Conference Defensive Player Of The Year after leading the Bears in takedowns in 2011 with 77 to go along with 3.5 quarterback sacks.  Demetrius Green has been a first-team all-league pick the last two seasons. 
As first-team all-region selections, Rearden, Corpe, and Michael Green are now on the ballot for All-American accolades.
All four players led Lenoir-Rhyne to a 7-3 record in 2011 and the team's first South Atlantic Conference Championship since 1994.  The Bears finished the year with a 6-1 mark in league play.
The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA), with the online nomination and voting process powered by ATHLETICSITE.COM.


2011 NCAA Division II Football
All-Super Region 2 Teams


TE - Josh Crumpton, Mars Hill
WR - Deonte Gist, Tusculum #+
WR - Rashaad Carter, Tusculum +
OL - Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne #+
OL - Kyle Thornton, North Alabama #+
OL - Tyler Hodgson, Mars Hill
OL - Jamie Dixon, North Alabama
OL - Darrell Leopold, Delta State
QB - Micah Davis, Delta State
RB - Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill $^#+
RB - Travis Daniels, UNC Pembroke
RS - Deonte Gist, Tusculum
K - Colin Corpe, Lenoir-Rhyne


DL - Zeke Andrews, Carson-Newman !+
DL - Robbie Mayers, Delta State +
DL - Terrence Smith, Tusculum %
LB - Apollo Stretch, Newberry +
LB - Jamarkus Gaskins, Albany State +
LB - Marcus Dowtin, North Alabama
LB - Ixavier Triplett, Delta State %
CB - Janoris Jenkins, North Alabama +
CB - Dominique Davenport, Delta State
S - Harrison Dreiling, Valdosta State +
S - Michael Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
P - Andrew Jones, Delta State


Offensive Player Of The Year: Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill
Defensive Player Of The Year: Jamarkus Gaskins, Albany State


TE - Dex Hopkins, Delta State
WR - Mo Milliam, North Alabama
WR - Chris Bowden, Wingate
OL - Mike Arndt, Wingate %
OL - Lamar Young, Delta State
OL - Marlon Jones, Morehouse
OL - Ryan Schraeder, Valdosta State
OL - Kendall Hunter, Delta State
OL - Jessie Mitchell, Kentucky State
OL - Chase Gamble, Newberry
QB - Willy Korn, North Greenville
RB - David Carter, Morehouse
RB - Nate Inman, Carson-Newman %
RB - Nathan Hoyte, Albany State
RS - Keith Massey, Kentucky State
K - Taylor Baskett, UNC Pembroke


DL - Mark Hoskins, Delta State
DL - Darel Strong, Clark Atlanta
DL - Kevin Johnson, Mars Hill
LB - Fred Williams, UNC Pembroke
LB - Cory Jones, Lane
LB - Demetrius Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB - JacQuan Persley, Kentucky State
CB - Marvin James, Mars Hill
CB - Dwight Tillman, Delta State
S - Rashad McCrae, Albany State
S - Tyren Futch, Lane
P - Michael Schuster, North Alabama


+ - Top vote-getter
$ - 2008 First Team Selection
! - 2008 Second Team Selection
^ - 2009 First Team Selection
# - 2010 First Team Selection
% - 2010 Second Team Selection


Photo Courtesy: Colin Corpe, LRU Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email