files/toyota.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
80°F | 61°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
76°F | 62°F | 20%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Nine Bears Earn 2011 All-SAC Football Honors PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Tuesday, 15 November 2011 18:21

The Lenoir-Rhyne University Football Team, fresh off its first league championship in 17 years, placed nine players on the 2011 All-South Atlantic Conference First and Second Teams.
L-R (7-3, 6-1) was one behind Mars Hill (10) for the most all-conference players this season.  The Lions share the SAC Championship with the Bears in 2011.
Of the nine Lenoir-Rhyne players to garner all-league accolades, six

were named to the All-South Atlantic Conference First Team.
The first-teamers on the defensive side of the ball for the Bears include junior linebacker Demetrius Green (Cedartown, Ga.), junior defensive lineman Brandon Martin (Roebuck, S.C.) and sophomore defensive back Michael Green (Kingsland, Ga.).
Demetrius Green was the second Lenoir-Rhyne player and fourth in school history to be named the South Atlantic Conference Defensive Player Of The Year.  Demetrius Green led the Bears in tackles this year with 77 to go along with 3.5 quarterback sacks and an interception while earning first-team all-conference honors for the second straight year.
Martin was also named to the All-SAC First Team for the second consecutive season.  In 2011, Martin finished with 26 tackles to go along with a team-high 5.5 quarterback sacks.
Michael Green was second on the squad in takedowns with 63 while leading the Bears with three interceptions on the season.
On offense, senior lineman Chandler Rearden (Greenwood, S.C.) and senior quarterback Major Herron (Kingsland, Ga.) were named to the All-SAC First Team.
Rearden earned first-team all-league honors for the third time in his career and the All-American also won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy for the second consecutive season.  The trophy is given annually to the top offensive lineman in the conference.
Herron led the squad in rushing (904) and passing yards (967) while totaling 21 touchdowns on the year.  Herron leaves L-R ranked fifth all-time in total offense (4,486) and finished with 52 total touchdowns (37 rushing and 15 passing).
Senior placekicker Colin Corpe (Ocala, Fla.) was named to the All-SAC First Team for the second time in his career.  Corpe's 14 field goals this year led the league and his 45 career field goals and 264 points for a kicker rank first on the school's all-time lists.
Redshirt freshman fullback Isaiah Whitaker (Salisbury, N.C.), senior defensive back Jamont Jones (Washington, N.C.) and Michael Green were all named to the all-league second team.
Whitaker finished second on the team in rushing this year with 815 yards and six touchdowns while Jones, a three-year starter, tallied 37 tackles and an interception in 2011.
Michael Green garnered second-team honors as a return specialist as well as he led the league in punt return average (18.0 ypr) and returned two touchdowns for scores this season.
Finally, Mike Houston was named the South Atlantic Conference Co-Coach Of The Year along with Mars Hill's Tim Clifton for leading the Bears to their first league championship since 1994.


2011 All-South Atlantic Conference
Football Teams


QB - Majon Herron, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB - Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill
RB - Nate Inman, Carson-Newman
RB - John Gadson, Newberry
WR - Deonte Gist, Tusculum
WR - Chris Bowden, Wingate
WR - Eric Watts, Brevard
TE - Brandon Ellington, Wingate
TE - Josh Crumpton, Mars Hill
OL - Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL - Caleb Campbell, Brevard
OL - Chase Gamble, Newberry
OL - Tyler Hodgson, Mars Hill
OL - Mike Arndt, Wingate
PK - Colin Corpe, Lenoir-Rhyne
RS - Deonte Gist, Tusculum


DL - Zeke Andrews, Carson-Newman
DL - Brandon Martin, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL - Kevin Johnson, Mars Hill
DL - Anterio Arnold, Newberry
LB - Prince Simunyu, Brevard
LB - Apollo Stretch, Newberry
LB - Demetrius Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB - Larry Lumpkin, Carson-Newman
LB - Lakeem Perry, Catawba
DB - Michael Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB - Michael Gist, Brevard
DB - Marvin James, Mars Hill
DB - Jumal Rolle, Catawba
P - Eric Watts, Brevard
LS - Skylar West, Tusculum


QB - Cody Haffly, Wingate
RB - Isaiah Whitaker, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB - Josh Wright, Catawba
RB - Patrick Park, Mars Hill
WR - Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
WR - Rashaad Carter, Tusculum
WR - Brandon Bostick, Newberry
OL - Kevin Day, Carson-Newman
OL - Josh Stone, Tusculum
OL - Nick Allison, Mars Hill
OL - Pat Aiken, Tusculum
OL - Alex Taylor, Carson-Newman
PK - Michael Pinkerton, Mars Hill
RS - Michael Green, Lenoir-Rhyne


DL -Terrence Smith, Tusculum
DL - Jack Taylor, Wingate
DL - CJ Barksdale, Catawba
DL - Christian Lumbu, Brevard
LB - Rudy Cabral, Mars Hill
LB - Jared Seate, Wingate
LB - Rufus Jenkins, Brevard
DB - David Davis, Newberry
DB - Oliver Davis, Carson-Newman
DB - Jamont Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB - Tarvin Jones, Carson-Newman
P - JoJo Morris, Newberry
P - Andy Rosetti, Tusculum
LS - DJ Davis, Catawba


Offensive Player of the Year: Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill
Defensive Player of the Year: Demetrius Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
Offensive Freshman of the Year: Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
Defensive Freshman of the Year: CJ Barksdale, Catawba
Jacobs Blocking Trophy: Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne
Co-Coaches of the Year: Tim Clifton, Mars Hill and Mike Houston, Lenoir-Rhyne


Photo Courtesy: Major Herron, LRU Athletics

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email