files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
57°F | 44°F | 60%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
64°F | 45°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
UNCG Men, Women Win 2011 SoCon Titles PDF Print
Written by SoCon Sports Information   
Saturday, 29 October 2011 15:08

The UNCG men and women won the team titles in the 2011 Southern Conference Cross Country Championship at the Trophy Lakes course in Charleston, S.C. on Saturday.
UNCG’s Paul Chelimo led from the start of the race as he claimed the individual men’s title on the 8K course, finishing in a time of 23:11.56. Chelimo was 19 seconds ahead of second-place finisher Davidson’s Ryan Hopkins. UNCG’s Joey Thompson and Paul Katam finished third and fourth, respectively, while Chattanooga’s Chris Berry rounds out the top five finishers on the men’s side. 
The Spartans men finished with 26 points. The Davidson men finished in second place with 73 points. This is the first time in six seasons that Appalachian State did not win the men’s team title.
The Spartan women finished with 35 points, followed by Furman with 80 points overall.
UNCG’s Ashley Schnell defended her title as she won the individual women’s title on the 5K course, finishing in a time of 16:33.10, which set the new course record at Trophy Lakes by 20 seconds.
UNCG’s Linh Nguyen won the Coach of the Year honor. Chelimo won the men’s Runner of the Year honor, and the men’s Freshman of the Year award went to UNCG’s Paul Katam following his fourth place finish.
UNCG’s Ashley Schnell was awarded the SoCon Women’s Runner of the Year, while Davidson’s Sarah Paddon was honored as the women’s Freshman of the Year. 


Team Scores – Men
1.  UNCG                          26
2. Davidson                       73
3. Furman                         82
4. Appalachian State              91
5. Chattanooga                   103
6. Western Carolina              166
T6. Elon                         166
8. College of Charleston         205
9. The Citadel                   260
10. Wofford                      279
11. Samford                      288


Team Scores – Women
1.  UNCG                          35
2.  Furman                        80
3. Elon                          111
4. Appalachian State             117
5. College of Charleston         141
6. Western Carolina              143
7. Samford                       145
8. Davidson                      178
9. Wofford                       242
10. Georgia Southern             244
11. Chattanooga                  295
12. The Citadel                  329


All-SoCon First Team – Men
1.  Paul Chelimo—UNCG
2.  Ryan Hopkins—Davidson
3. Joey Thompson—UNCG
4. Paul Katam—UNCG
5. Chris Berry—Chattanooga
6. Lucas Cotter—Chattanooga
7. Abraham Kemboi—UNCG


All-SoCon First Team – Women
1.  Ashley Schnell—UNCG
2. Lauren D’Alessio—Samford
3. Dena O’Brien—College of Charleston
4. Erin Barker—Furman
5. Chelsea Sumney—UNCG
6. Kerry Harman—UNCG
7. Shaina Sumney—UNCG


All-SoCon Second Team – Men
8.  Alex Taylor—Appalachian State
9. Will Raby—Appalachian State
10. Luis Vargas—Elon
11. Mike Koech—UNCG
12. Tripp Hurt—Furman
13. Chris Caldwell—Furman
14. Mark Cole--Chattanooga


All-SoCon Second Team – Women
8. Brooke Mosteller—Furman
9. Allyson Oram—Elon
10. Mara Smith—Western Carolina
11. Amanda Hamilton—Appalachian State
12. Sarah Paddon—Davidson
13. Hannah Orders—Appalachian State
14. Morgan Denecke—Elon
T14. Sinead Haughey—Furman


All-SoCon Freshman Team – Men
4. Paul Katam—UNCG
10. Luis Vargas—Elon
12. Tripp Hurt—Furman
25. Sean Magee—Elon
31. Travis Alfaro—Western Carolina
37. Whitner Chase—Davidson
40. Henry Falotico--Davidson


All-SoCon Freshman Team – Women
12. Sarah Paddon—Davidson
T14. Sinead Haughey—Furman
21. Haylee Dawe—Elon
22. Rebecca Greenwall-Georgia Southern
24. Hayley McMahon—College of Charleston
27. Erin Osment—Davidson
29. Alissa Williams—Wofford


Coach of the Year – Men
Linh Nguyen —UNCG


Coach of the Year – Women
Linh Nguyen —UNCG


Runner of the Year – Men
Paul Chelimo--UNCG


Runner of the Year – Women
Ashley Schnell – UNCG


Freshman of the Year – Men
Luis Vargas—Elon


Freshman of the Year – Women
Sarah Paddon—Davidson



Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email