files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
59°F | 52°F | 80%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
64°F | 48°F | 30%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
One Stop Voting Underway PDF Print
Written by Steve Frank   
Thursday, 20 October 2011 13:40

One-Stop voting begins today for municipal offices across the state.  For Boone, two of the three incumbents are seeking reelection—Andy Ball and Lynne Mason, with Stephen Phillips not seeking to return to his seat.  Seeking that seat is Board of Adjustment member Allan Scherlen.  Ann Rasheed, dropped her campaign. First and second-place in the balloting get four-year terms, third place, a two year term. 
In Blowing Rock, Mayor J.B. Lawrence is challenged by incumbent councilman Tommy Klutz—the first competition for Lawrence in over a decade.  Incumbent Blowing Rock Council members Phillip Pickett and Albert Yount are being challenged by Regina Pelsmaeker and Dan Phillips.
Six candidates will be vying for the three open seats for Beech Mountain Town Council.  Newcomers David Conrad, Larry Miller, and James True joining incumbents Alan Holcombe, E. ‘Rick’ Miller and Richard (Rick) Owen on the ballot.
For Seven Devils, five candidates are seeking election to the Town Council, including newcomers Larry Fontaine and Brad Lambert joining incumbents Bob Dodson, Kathryn Copley, and Richard DeMott on the ballot, seeking the three open seats.  Beech Mountain and Seven Devils councils select the mayor from their members after the election. 
And in Lenoir, newcomer Janet Smith says her new home town needs new leadership.  She finalized her paperwork with the Election Board as a write in candidate for the Mayor for the City of Lenoir. Smith said she had no intention of running for public office in the City of Lenoir, opening a bed and breakfast there, but she said with empty buildings Uptown and the huge loss of good jobs , she thinks she can provide that spark.  
One-stop voting continues through November 5th with the election on Tuesday, November 8th.

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email