files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Sept2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
50°F | 72°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
51°F | 70°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
ASU Favored To Win SoCon PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Monday, 25 July 2011 15:02

The Southern Conference football coaches have selected Appalachian State as the pre-season favorite to win the Southern Conference title this season.

The Apps have won six consecutive Socon titles (2005-2010), and the Moutaineers have won nine SoCon championships under head coach Jerry Moore since his arrival in 1989. Moore, the all-time winningest coach in ASU and SoCon history is just one win shy of 200 career wins (199-79 during his 28-year career). ASU has equaled Georgia Southern's record of six consecutive titles (1997-2002), and the Mountaineers, who have 11 SoCon championships overall, are one title away from tying Furman for the most championships (12) in league history.
The Mountaineers received five first-place votes and 60 points in the coaches poll. Georgia Southern was a close second with three first-place votes and 59 points. Wofford was third and Chattanooga was picked to finish fourth, but the Mocs did receive one first-place vote.
Eric Breitenstein of Wofford College was named the Offensive Player of the Year. Breitenstein, a two=time All-State selection who played at Watauga High, set new school records with 1,639 yards and scored 22 touchdowns last fall; defensive end Ameet Pall of Wofford and defensive tackle Brent Russell of Georgia Southern were named the co-Defensive Players of the Year.
Quarterback Deandre Presley, offensive lineman Orry Frye and tight end Ben Jordan of ASU were named first-team offense; defensive lineman John Rizor and defensive back Ed Gainey of the Moutaineers were named first-team defense. Travaris Cadet of the Mountaineers was named second team offense at running back and on special teams as a return specialist. Breitenstein of the Terriers was named first team offense at running back. Offensive lineman Matt Ruff and wide receiver Brian Quick of the Mountaineers were named second team offense; linebacker Brandon Grier, Jr., of the Mountaineers was a second-team selection on defense; punter Sam Martin was named second team on speical teams. Georgia Southern led all schools with 14 all-conference selections,; Appalachian State had the second most with 11.
The Mountaineers kick-off the season at Virginia Tech Saturday, September 3 at 12:30 pm. Coverage begins at 10:30 am on WATA 1450 AM. Virginia Tech and Florida State have been selected as pre-season favorites to meet in the Atlantic Coast Conference championship game this season by league coaches.




2011 Southern Conference Football Preseason Coaches Poll


1. Appalachian State (5) 60

2. Georgia Southern (3) 59

3. Wofford 49

4. Chattanooga (1) 45

5. Elon 33

6. Furman 30

7. Samford 25

8. The Citadel 13

9. Western Carolina 10


2011 Southern Conference Football


Preseason All-Conference Teams Offensive Player of the Year: Eric Breitenstein, Jr., FB, Wofford


Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Ameet Pall, Sr., DL, Wofford & Brent Russell, Jr., DL, Georgia Southern


First Team Offense


QB- DeAndre Presley, Sr., Appalachian State

RB- Robert Brown, So, Georgia Southern

RB- Eric Breitenstein, Jr., Wofford

OL- Orry Frye, Sr., Appalachian State

OL- Rodney Austin, Sr., Elon

OL- Ryan Lee, Sr., Furman

OL- Brett Moore, Sr., Georgia Southern

OL- Nate Page, Sr., Wofford

TE- Ben Jorden, Sr., Appalachian State

WR- Aaron Mellette, Jr., Elon

WR- Joel Bradford, Sr., Chattanooga


First Team Defense


DL- John Rizor, Jr., Appalachian State

DL- Brent Russell, Jr., Georgia Southern

DL- Alex Davis, Sr., Samford

DL- Ameet Pall, Sr., Wofford

LB- Kadarron Anderson, Sr., Furman

LB- Josh Rowe, Jr., Georgia Southern

LB- Ryan Consiglio, Sr., Chattanooga

DB- Ed Gainey, Sr., Appalachian State

DB- Ryan Steed, Sr., Furman

DB- Derek Heyden, Sr., Georgia Southern

DB- Laron Scott, Sr., Georgia Southern


First Team Specialists


PK- Ray Early, So., Furman

P- Charlie Edwards, Sr., Georgia Southern

RS- Laron Scott, Sr., Georgia Southern


Second Team Offense


QB- B.J. Coleman, Sr., Chattanooga

RB- Travaris Cadet, Sr., Appalachian State

RB- J.J. Wilcox, Jr., Georgia Southern

OL- Matt Ruff, Sr., Appalachian State

OL- Dakota Dozier, So., Furman

OL- Dorian Byrd, So., Georgia Southern

OL- Willie Maxwell, Sr., Georgia Southern

OL- Adam Miller, Jr., Chattanooga

TE- (tie) Colin Anderson, Jr., Furman

TE- (tie) Tyler Sumner, Jr., Georgia Southern

WR- Brian Quick, Sr., Appalachian State

WR- Brenton Bersin, Sr., Wofford


Second Team Defense


DL- Josh Lynn, Jr., Furman

DL- Roderick Tinsley, Sr., Georgia Southern

DL- Nick Davison, Sr., Chattanooga

DL- Eric Eberhardt, Sr., Wofford

LB- Brandon Grier, Jr., Appalachian State

LB- Tolu Akindele, Sr., The Citadel

LB- Joshua Jones, Sr., Elon

DB- Corey White, Sr., Samford

DB- Chris Lewis-Harris, Sr., Chattanooga

DB- Kadeem Wise, So., Chattanooga

DB- Blake Wylie, Jr., Wofford


Second Team Specialists


PK- Adrian Mora, Sr., Georgia Southern

P- Sam Martin, Jr., Appalachian State

RS- Travaris Cadet, Sr., Appalachian State





Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email