files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 49°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
71°F | 52°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
SoCon Has 4 On Buchanan Watch List PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Monday, 18 July 2011 13:07

The 2011 Buck Buchanan Award Watch List has been released by The Sports Network.

And the Southern Conference is well represented with four players on that list. Leading the way is defensive end Ameet Pall of Wofford, who tied for second in the voting last year, and defensive tackle Brent Russell of Georgia Southern, who finished 12th in the voting in 2010.
Furman has two players on the list in linebacker Kadarron Anderson and defensive back Ryan Steed.
Pall backboned Wofford's defensive line as he finished eighth in the FCS after collecting 22.5 tackles-for-loss and 12.5 quarterback sacks; the Terriers reached the national quarterfinals, where they were ousted by Georgia Southern. Russell helped Georgia Southern reach the FCS semifinals last season, while totaling 71 stops, including 18.5 TFL, eight quarterback sacks, and five quarterback hurries.
There are six finalists from last year on this year's watch list. The others are linebacker Matt Evans of New Hampshire,who finished fourth in the voting last year; senior linebacker Tyler Holmes of UMass, who was fifth; senior defensive end Mario Kurn of San Diego, who was sixth; and senior cornerback Trumaine Johnson of Montana, who was 19th.
Evans, who was the only sophomore on the ballot last year, made 156 tackles in 2010, which is the second highest single-season total in school history at New Hampshire. Holmes had 110 tackles, including 12 for loss, and five interceptions for the Minutemen, who are playing their final season in the FCS this season; and Kurn led the FCS with 17 quarterback sacks and 27 tackles-for-loss.
The BucK Buchanan Award goes to the best defensive player in the country in the Football Sub-Division Championship Series. Linebacker J.C. Sherritt of Eastern Washington, which won the national title last year, won the Buchanan Award in 2010.


Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email