files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
57°F | 44°F | 60%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
64°F | 45°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Six LRU Swimmers Earn All-Academic Honors PDF Print
Written by LRU Sports Information   
Friday, 08 July 2011 12:27

Six members of the Lenoir-Rhyne University Men's and Women's Swimming Teams were named to the Bluegrass Mountain Conference All-Academic Team.

To earn the honors, student-athletes must gave a 3.5 grade point average or high for the semester and participated in this season's league championship meet.
L-R's six includes junior Lindsay Atkin (Hickory, N.C.), sophomore Gina Glenn (Matthews, N.C.), junior Hailey Mathison (Matthews, N.C.), junior Megan Neubauer (Taylors, S.C.), and freshmen Niall Courtney (Hendersonville, N.C.) and Shane Courtney (Hendersonville, N.C.).
Atkin, who holds school records in the 100-meter (1:08.93) and 200-meter breaststrokes (2:29.42), carries a 3.08 grade point average while majoring in health and exercise science.
Mathison has a 3.59 GPA and is majoring in elementary education while Glenn (3.19 grade point average) is the school's record-holder in the 100-meter backstroke (1:02.61).
Meanwhile, Neubauer holds four school records - 500-yard (5:26.18), 1,000-yard (11:04.96) and 1,650-yard (19:15.43) freestyle events and the 400-yard individual medley (4:51.71) - and is a elementary education major with a 3.78 GPA.
Both Niall (3.75) and Shane (3.79) Courtney are health and exercise science majors.  Niall Courtney holds the L-R record in the 100-yard (1:05.03) and 200-yard (2:22.05) breaststrokes while Shane Courtney holds the school mark in the 1,650-yard freestyle (18:49.53).
The L-R Men's and Women's Swimming Teams will kick off the 2011-12 season on Wednesday, October 5, when the squads host Campbell at the Shuford P.E. Center.


Bluegrass Mountain Conference
All-Academic Team


Jaimie Horton, Leah Constan-Tatos, Mikael Karlsson, Yakir Malul, Zach Owens, Alex Walpole


Christl Bradley, Jana Gentry, Rhianon Gluhosky, Ashley Johnson, Hillary Johnson


Fairmont State
Cassie Annan, Michelle Stanbaugh, Alyson Wareing, Ryan Radcliff


Lindsay Atkin, Gina Glenn, Hailey Mathison, Megan Neubauer, Niall Courtney, Shane Courtney


Joanna Mannan, Nathania LaPierre, Renee-Marie Pouchet, Lance Maxwell, Blake Schaeffer,


Vera DeFusco, Morgan Diomme, Melissa Roberts, Andrew Corley, Zach McMichael, Matt Money


Kristina Bond, Alecia Payne, Caitlin Seed, Mary Strand, Dan Bowden


Savanah College of Art and Design
Kelsey Christopher, Mary Ashley Krough, Claire Partlow, Liz Roberts, Kerry Stephens, Fanny Varga Alex Zimmerman, Sam Crawford, Michael DiPietro, Bartos Scharmach, Matt Stucky, Stephan Sulivan


Claire Dorris, Samantha Washburn, Joseph Porter, Thomas Stephens, Yunan Yang


Washington and Lee
Lauren Kasoff, Delaney Rolfe, Frank Cullo, Phillip Dishuch, Will Ericson, Ryan Hanson, Brad Harder, Ryan Hartman, Matt Hesser, Giovanni Marciano, Wayde Marsh, Eric Shuman, Brian Stirling, Rick Sykes


Kelly Crossen, Valerie Dambny, sarah Erickson, Malin Kersmark, Brittany Pales, Anna Rogers, Sarah Supcoe, Kelsey Trabue, Jeffery Autum, Mark Blazevski, Reed Miller, Spence Wajanaar


West Virginia Wesleyan
Rachel Bailer, Maria Guillen-Munoz, Natalie Howard, Stephanie Kalentzis, Hope Lima, Vivian Minkemeyer, Kimberly Stephens, Thomas Bartleman, Jeffery Dye, Phil Fisher, Maxwell Garner, Travis McCann







Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email