files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
53°F | 56°F | 60%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
46°F | 64°F | 20%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
SoCon Concludes Spring Meetings PDF Print
Written by SoCon Sports Information   
Friday, 03 June 2011 13:56

The Southern Conference completed its annual Spring Meetings on Thursday.

The three-day meetings were attended by each of the member institutions' President or Chancellor, Athletics Director, Senior Woman Administrator and Faculty Athletics Representative. The league's football and men's and women's basketball coaches also held meetings.
The league announced future sites for conference championships in 2013, 2014 and 2015.  Davidson College was awarded the 2013 Women's Soccer Championship, while UNCG was awarded the men's championship.  Georgia Southern was selected to host the 2013 Volleyball Championship.  College of Charleston was awarded the 2014 Softball Championship while Chattanooga is slated to host the Men's and Women's Tennis Championships.  Wofford College was tabbed to host the 2015 Outdoor Track and Field Championships.
The conference announced it will establish an ad hoc committee to make recommendations to enhance the visibility and profile of its men's basketball programs.
Wednesday night's annual Southern Conference Honors Dinner recognized the league's award-winners from the 2010-11 season.  Among those recognized were College of Charleston's Andrew Goudelock (Bob Waters Male Athlete of the Year) and Furman's Monica Arguello (Female Athlete of the Year). 
Appalachian State was recognized for winning the Commissioner's Cup, presented to the top overall men's athletics program, as well as the Germann Cup, which is awarded to the conference's top women's athletics program. 
Davidson College was awarded the Barrett-Bonner Award which recognizes the school with the highest percentage of student-athletes on the league's Honor Roll.  Davidson placed 70 percent of its student-athletes on the SoCon Honor Roll.  The Wildcats also earned the league's Graduation Rate Award which is presented to the school with the highest graduation rates of its student athletes over the last five years.  Wofford earned the D.S. McAllister Award which is presented annually to the school judged by the league's administrators and head coaches to have exhibited the highest degree of sportsmanship.


Conference Championship - Future Sites


Women's Soccer
Davidson, N.C. - 2013


Men's Soccer
Greensboro, N.C. - 2013


Statesboro, Ga. - 2013


Men's and Women's Tennis
Chattanooga, Tenn. - 2014


Charleston, S.C. - 2014


Outdoor Track and Field
Spartanburg, S.C. - 2015



Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email