High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
53°F | 56°F | 90%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
46°F | 64°F | 20%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
NW3A/4A All-Conference Golf Announced PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Tuesday, 17 May 2011 18:58

The Northwestern 3A/4A Conference has released its men's all-conference team for 2011.

J.T. Poston, who won his second consecutive Class 3A state championship on May 10, was named the NW3A/4A Player of the Year. Ben Hale of the Red Tornadoes was named the Coach of the Year. The Red Tornadoes,who won the regular-season title by 13 shots over Alexander Central, also had five all-conference selections: Poston, Win Batalow, Frank Wyatt, Matthew Turner and Jack Williams.
Hickory just fell five shots short of winning the Class 3A state title. The Red Tornadoes were bested by Burlington Williams in the finals. Poston had round of 63 and 68, finishing at 13-under par with a state-record score of 131. . He bested the field by nine shots.
Alexander Central, the No.1 seed among the 4A schools, had four all-conference selections: Zack Burket, Ben Gardner, Alex Rhyne and Tanner Pearson.
The Cougars also put on a strong showing at the state finals in Pinehurst with an eighth-place finish. Gardner paced the Cougars on the links. He fired a 70 on the final round and finished in 11th place.
Hibriten, Watauga and South Caldwell, which finished fifth, sixth and seventh place respectively, did not have an all-conference selection.



Final Standings:


          Team                               Scores
1.  Hickory                                   1826
2.  Alexander Central                     1839 
3.  St. Stephens                           1906
4.  Fred T. Foard                           1971
5.  Hibriten                                   2015
6.  Watauga                                  2042
7.  South Caldwell                          2154  


Conference  Champion:  Hickory Red Tornadoes


All Conference:




Christian  Carpenter




J T Poston
Win Balatow
Frank Wyatt
Matthew Turner
Jack Williams  


St. Stephens:


Mason Houston
Logan Barkley


Alexander Central:


Zack Burket
Ben Gardner
Alex Rhyne
Tanner Pearson


Player of the Year: J T Poston, Hickory

Coach of the Year:  Ben Hale, Hickory





Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email