High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
66°F | 42°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
60°F | 38°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Written by Courtney Burchett   
Saturday, 23 April 2011 21:19

Five Mountaineers picked up SoCon individual titles Saturday, and Appalachian State University men’s track and field cruised to its 18th Southern Conference outdoor title.


The Black and Gold scored 256 points compared to runner-up Western Carolina who finished in second place with 218.5 points.
The title is not only ASU’s 18th in program history and second in a row, but is also the second straight Triple Crown and fifth in school history for the storied program. ASU is the only SoCon institution since 1975 to have won the Triple Crown, and Furman is the only other current conference institution to have accomplished the feat, winning its lone triple crown back during the 1961-62 seasons
Starting the day off with the decathlon, Jake Goodchild ran a new personal best time in the 110m hurdles, finishing fourth in the event with a time of 17.06. The mark moves him into fifth on ASU’s all-time list in the event. In the decathlon discus, Goodchild took home the runner-up spot with a toss of 111-1.
Keeping with his impressive showings the Hendersonville, N.C. senior vaulted to a tied for first place finish in the decathlon pole vault, leaping a new personal best of 14-1-.25. His mark pushes him into second on the all-time list in the event. In the decathlon javelin, Goodchild placed fourth with a throw of 142-4.
Finishing up the grueling decathlon, Goodchild notched a first place finishing the 1500m run with a new personal best time of 4:49.29. The mark puts him at first on ASU’s all-time list.
Goodchild ended the event with a second place finish. The senior totaled 6560 points, crushing his own school record in the event that was previously 6278 points, set back in 2009.
The speedy 4x100m relay team made up of Dennis Moore, Justin Thomas, TJ Lockard and Landon Powell took home the SoCon title in the relay with a time of 40.29. The conference crown
in the event is Appalachian’s second straight and just fifth in program history.
Bud Galloway paced a group of four Mountaineers in the 1500m run, as Galloway grabbed all-SoCon honors, earning a third place finish with a time of 4:00.65.
Brandon Hudgins came in sixth with a time of 4:01.04, Alex Taylor finished 12th with a time of 4:02.84 and Chris Moen rounded out the group placing 14th with a mark of 4:04.29.
Continuing to exert their speed, Moore picked up the SoCon title in the 100m dash, as the junior ran to a first place finish with a time of 10.39.
Sweeping the top three spots in the 100m dash, Powell took the runner-up spot with a mark of 10.55, while Thomas came in third with a time of 10.61. Lockard was also solid in the race as well, coming in sixth with a time of 10.81.
Moore’s title in the 100m dash marks the second straight year that the Black and Gold take home the conference crown in the event.
AJ Dohanic and Trey Jones did not disappoint in the 110m hurdles, as Dohanic grabbed all-SoCon honors, placing second with a new personal best time of 14.55, while Jones finished fifth with a mark of 14.93.
Hudgins picked up all-SoCon honors in the 800m run, as he ran to a second place finish, recording a new personal best time of 1:51.33.  Taylor set a season-best time in the run, coming in fifth with a mark of 1:53.22.
Dohanic and Jones also competed in the 400m hurdles, with Dohanic earning another all-conference accolade, taking the runner-up spot with a personal best time of 53.94. Jones finished ninth in the race, also setting a new personal best time of 56.94.For the fifth straight year, Appalachian won the shot put title, as Jerod Gardner took home the crown, the second in his career and first since 2009, with a new personal best toss of 55-5.5.
His throw moves him into fourth on ASU’s top-ten list in the shot put.
Taking the top three spots, Jacob Lane and Malcolm Styers picked up all-SoCon honors as well, as Lane placed second in the shot put with a new personal best throw of 52-10.75, and Styers came in third with a throw of 51-11.25. Lane’s throw puts him at ninth on the all-time list.
Caleb Poplin, Tim Daly and Zane Lail placed ninth, t-11th and 14th respectively with throws of 44-3.5, 43-2.5 and 40-1.5.
In the triple jump, Jamal Tiller earned all-SoCon honors, finishing third with a personal best jump of 48-5.25.
Patrick Hill and Mike Wilson took home the eighth and ninth place spots with jumps of 43-2.25 and 42-9.5.
Gardner did not let up in the throwing events, as he won the discus title, making it the second-straight year ASU has won the event. Gardner finished first with a throw of 158-11.
Not too far behind, Styers finished second with a toss of 155-6, with Poplin coming fifth with a toss of 141-0. Lane and Goodchild placed eighth and 13th in the event with throws of 133-9, and 99-0, while Lail also competed but could not record a mark.
For the second consecutive year and third in the past four seasons, Appalachian won the 5,000m run title, as Will Raby ran to a first place finish with a new personal best time of 14:54.57.
Nick Kelly and Sean Soderman grabbed the fifth and sixth place spots with times of 15:07.56 and 15:08.87.
Moore completed the sprinting sweep for the Mountaineers Saturday, as he was victorious in the 200m dash as well, winning the event with an Appalachian school record time of 20.81.
Thomas, Powell and Lockard were strong as well in the race. Thomas finished third with a personal best time of 21.30, putting him at eighth on ASU’s top-ten list, while Powell came in fourth, also running a personal-best time of 21.32, moving him into ninth on the all-time list. Lockard rounded out the group with an eighth place finish, notching a time of 21.98.
In the last event of the meet, the 4x400m relay squad, made up of Moore, Powell, Hudgins and Andrew Yarchin finished eighth with a mark of 3:29.77.
The Mountaineers take a two-week reprieve from their hectic outdoor campaign, before returning to action Saturday, May 7. The squad will compete at the North Carolina Invitational in Chapel Hill, N.C.


Men’s Individual Awards


Most Outstanding Athlete
Cordell Livingston – Western Carolina


Most Outstanding Track Performer
Dennis Moore – Appalachian State


Most Outstanding Field Performer
Malcolm Styers – Appalachian State


Freshman of the Year
Aaron Tribble – Western Carolina


Coach of the Year
Rod Tiffin – Samford

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email