files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 48°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
72°F | 52°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
files/facebook banner farmer.jpg
Early Voting Totals 'Brisk;' Election Tomorrow PDF Print
Written by Steve Frank   
Monday, 04 November 2013 07:17

Today is the day between—the day of no voting before tomorrow’s  municipal election.  By mid-day Friday, 1100 voters had cast ballots at the Commissioners meeting room—the early voting poll for all of Watauga County, and voters still cast ballots Saturday until 1. It will be the first election since disputes arose between the Watauga Commission and Boone Town Council over the Old Watauga High School property and other development issues, leading to punitive action on sales tax distribution and investigation into lawsuits on both sides. Those controversies and a host of issues in a number of High Country towns may be causing a spike interest in the local races, plus the competitiveness of races for Mayor of Boone, where long time Mayor Loretta Clawson is stepping down, and a competitive race in Blowing Rock have also spiked interest.  And in Boone, an active write-in mayoral race is worth watching, especially in vote totals from ASU, as a senior there is running as a write-in. Only one town’s races are uncontested—that in the Seven Devils Town Council race. Tomorrow, polls will open at 6:30 a.m. and stay open until the last voter in line at 7:30 p.m. casts their ballot.  Note that Monday at 5 p.m. is the deadline to return absentee ballots.

The mayor's term in Blowing Rock the mayoral term is two years while Boone’s Mayor wins a four year term. In all of the municipalities, the top two vote-getters in the town council races will serve four-year terms, while the third-place finishers will serve two-year terms. Seven Devils and Beech Mountain councils choose the mayor and vice mayor/mayor pro tem from within the council by the council members.

Voters will cast their ballots at a single polling place in Beech Mountain, Blowing Rock and Seven Devils, but in Boone, eight precinct polling places will be open—not all of the eight precincts are fully located within the Boone town limits, so if you have any voting questions, today may be a good day to ask—call the Watauga County Board of Elections at (828) 265-8061 for assistance.

Voting takes place in Watauga at:

Buckeye Recreation Center in Beech Mountain   

Blowing Rock Town Hall in Blowing Rock

For Boone voters:
Blue Ridge; Laurel Fork Baptist Church
Boone 1; Watauga County Administration Building   
Boone 2; Legends on the ASU campus
Brushy Fork; Oak Grove Baptist Church
Boone 3; Agricultural Conference Center
New River 1; Boone Town Hall Council Chambers
New River 2; Three Forks Baptist Association
New River 3;  Mutton Crossing

Seven Devils; Seven Devils Town Hall

Ashe County has municipal elections for the towns of Jefferson, West Jefferson and Lansing, while Avery voters cast ballots for candidates in Banner Elk, Crossnore, Elk Park, Grandfather Village, Newland and Sugar Mountain.


Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email

files/Farmer Appreciation Week GBR Tile.png
files/BankersLife_Ad (1).jpg