files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Feb-2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
39°F | 59°F | 40%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
38°F | 39°F | 80%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
High Country Leaders recognized, Councilman, Mayors, Manager PDF Print
Monday, 17 September 2007 20:32

Earlier this month, the High Country Council of Governments held its annual awards banquet- and some familiar names were recognized for their outstanding contributions and achievements.

The Council is a planning and development agency that serves local governments in Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Mitchell, Watauga, Wilkes and Yancey counties.

Boone Councilman Bunk Spann at the Grand Opening of Boone Point

Boone Town Councilman Bunk Spann was honored as the Outstanding North Carolina Senior Tar Heel Legislature/Advisory Committee on Aging Member for the High Country Region.







Also recognized was Jefferson mayor Dana Tugman. Tugman was designated Outstanding Local Government Elected Official in the High Country Region.

Blowing Rock mayor J.B. Lawrence received the Outstanding High Country Council of Governments Executive Board Member Award.

Wilkesboro Manager Ken Noland was recognized as Outstanding Local Government Manager in the High Country, and a special award was presented to Wilkesboro mayor Normal Call, recognizing 40 plus years of service in Wilkesboro.
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email