Once again, early voting will not take place on the campus of Appalachian State University during the upcoming primary elections on May 6th, that after a split 2 to 1 vote of the Watauga County Board of Elections. Board secretary Bill Aceto
-- Watauga County Administration Building in downtown Boone.
-- Western Watauga Community Center in Sugar Grove.
-- Blowing Rock Town Hall.
-- Deep Gap Fire Department.
-- Meat Camp Fire Department.

Because of the less than unanimous vote, the approved plan is now required to go before the State Board of Elections. Kathleen Campbell, the lone Democrat on the board, put forward her own proposal, including a voting site at the Plemmons Student Union at ASU and sites at the Boone Town Council Chambers.

The hours of operation for the five sites include 8am to 4pm starting Thursday, April 24th through Friday, May 2nd, then 8am to 1pm on Saturday, May 3rd.