While the N.C. Department of Transportation continues de-icing operations throughout the northwestern part of the state today, some crews from that region will head east to assist with snow and ice removal. Division 11, which includes Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes and Yadkin counties, will send several crews this afternoon to eastern North Carolina, where they're expecting heavy snow. The crews from Division 11 will be pulled from the division's non-mountain counties.