files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Feb2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
25°F | 41°F | 40%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
38°F | 42°F | 30%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Wilkes Elections: Ronda write-ins and Wilkesboro's Inscore PDF Print
Tuesday, 06 November 2007 17:59

Wilkes County Election results had a few surprises, namely Wilkesboro’s councilman turned mayor-elect.

Town Councilman Mike Inscore won the mayor race with 464 votes. Pete Mann earned 273 votes- a good turnout, but not enough to keep Wilkesboro Town Council from having to appoint an Inscore replacement. The Council will have to appoint someone to fill his two-year council term. Wilkesboro’s town council race seated Jimmy C. Hayes with 304 votes and Sam Stroud with 364 votes. Losing contenders were J. Gary Johnson (304 votes), Claude Andrew (Andy) Soots (262 votes) and Jim Beckwith (121 votes).

Meanwhile, in North Wilkesboro, newcomer Jeffrey Elmore (253 votes) and incumbent Bert Hall (280 votes) were elected to town commissioner seats. Not elected were Leonard A. Baugham, Sr (214 votes), Jimmy Foster (207 votes), Steven Foster (former mayor, 173 votes) Eric Williams (152 votes), Phillip M. Keener (64 votes), Billy Joe “Crow” Church (49 votes) and Robert L. Cheek (28 votes).

Ronda, smallest of the three Wilkes municipalities, was the one to watch. While Victor Varela with 90 votes is the clear Mayor-elect (Derie Cheek Reece lost with 60 votes), the council race proved more difficult.

A write-in candidate took the majority: Maria Soots, with 81 votes, shook things up for balloted candidates Rex Ashley (76 votes) and Kevin Reece (59 votes). Ashley will join Soots on the council.
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email