files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Feb-2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
44°F | 32°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
55°F | 47°F | 50%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Avery County Unofficial Results: Sugar Mountain Upset PDF Print
Tuesday, 06 November 2007 17:07

Sugar Mountain’s race was the one to watch.

While five write-in votes did little to upset reelected mayor Dennis M. Lacy (128 votes), long-time incumbent Ed Hardin (59 votes) appears to have lost his seat in the Sugar Mountain Town Council. Newcomer Nancy Crawford slid into his place with 73 votes. She followed incumbent Gunther Jochl’s 74 votes in a very close election.


Banner Elk’s unopposed incumbent mayor Deka Tate received 106 votes. While Frank Wimbush’s write-in campaign yielded 43 votes, incumbents Bud Hahn (88 votes) and Robert E. Tufts (76) will retain their council seats.


In Elk Park, Darlene Hicks received 27 votes for mayor. While there were two write-in candidates with one vote each- Hicks took the race.

No surprises in the council race either: 5 slots, 5 candidates: Tony Eller (29 votes), Michael Eugene Smith (26 votes), Brad Benfield (25 votes), Greg Harris (21 votes) and Chuck Hicks (19 votes).


Newland’s election was the incumbents’ race. Reelected unopposed Mayor Valerie C. Jaynes received 37 votes. In the council race, newcomer Sam Markland (16 votes) lost out to incumbents Stanley Hollifield (29 votes), Rufus Henley (23 votes),  and Donetta McKinney (18 votes).


Crossnore’s election followed Avery’s predictable pattern. Tudor Vance, unopposed mayor, was reelected with 19 votes. Two seats on the council were available, with two names on the ballot: Eddie Yarber (19 votes) and Dale Henson (13 votes). Billy Howard’s two write-in votes weren’t enough to take the race.


No surprises in the unopposed Grandfather Village contest: Mayor: John Fitzgibbon (10 votes), Council members Bill Cocke (10 votes), Ed Powe (10 votes).


All results are unofficial until Tuesday canvassing. 

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email