files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Feb-2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
26°F | 41°F | 40%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
38°F | 42°F | 30%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Vikings In Fifth, Foster Ninth At States PDF Print
Written by Rick Strunk   
Monday, 13 May 2013 17:19

Tanner Owen of Kernersville Bishop McGuinness had the only sub-par round on Monday’s first day of the 16th annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state 1-A men’s golf championships at the Chapel Hill Country Club. Owen, who was fourth in the individual standings a year ago, had a two-under 70 to open up a four-shot advantage over teammate Jonathon Davis. McKenzie Barringer of Voyager Academy in Durham is in third at 75. Avery High sits in fifth place after the opening round of the state meet.
The Vikings had a team score of 333. Harley Foster paced Avery on the links Monday with a six-over par 78. Foster sits in a two-way tie for ninth, eight shots off the lead. Teammate Chance Watson is sitting in 11th place with a seven-over-par 79, nine shots back. The course is set at par 72 and 6,619 yards for the NCHSAA event.
Bishop McGuinness, the defending team champion which won by a whopping 52 shots a year ago, is in a much closer battle this time. The Villains hold a 14-shot lead over second-place Lake Norman Charter, with East Surry in third at 327 and Riverside-Martin in fourth at 330.  East Surry won four consecutive championships from 2005 through 2008.
The best four of six individual scores count toward the team total. Prior to 1986, all NCHSAA schools competed for a single title in an open tournament. Play went to three classifications in 1986 and then to four classes beginning with the 1998 tournaments. A total of 84 golfers began play in the two-day tournament. Action is scheduled to resume at eight o’clock on Tuesday morning.

Chapel Hill Country Club—Monday’s Results

Kernersville Bishop McGuinness  305
Lake Norman Charter             319
East Surry                      327
Riverside-Martin                330
Avery County                    333
West Montgomery                 343
Durham NC School of Science and Math 368
Southwest Onslow                375
Hayesville                      379
Franklin Academy                383
Rosewood                        392
Midway                          412

1st Round Results

Tanner Owen, Bishop McGuinness  70
Jonathon Davis, Bishop McGuinness 74
McKenzie Barringer, Voyager Academy 75
Jake Blum, Lake Norman Charter 76
Dylan Kennedy, West Montgomery 76
Keenan Denny, South Stokes 77
Colyn Petty, Swain 77
Jordan Taylor, West Montgomery 77
Harley Foster, Avery County 78
Jordan Vogler, East Surry 78
Chance Watson, Avery County 79

Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email