files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Feb2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
25°F | 41°F | 40%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
38°F | 42°F | 30%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Donovan Earns All-Independent Honors PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Wednesday, 24 April 2013 09:31

Lenoir-Rhyne's Lauren Donovan has been selected to the 2013 NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse All-Independent Second Team. In addition, Claire Wach

earned Independent All-Freshman Team accolades for the Bears as well.
Donovan, a sophomore midfielder from Hollywood, Md., earned all-independent accolades for the second straight year in 2013.
This season, Donovan is second on the team in goals scored (23), assists (11) and ground balls (51) while starting all 14 contests.
Wach, a midfielder from Cary, N.C., has 41 grounds balls so far on the year to go along with nine goals scored and four assists for Lenoir-Rhyne.
The Division II Independent Women's Lacrosse awards were voted on by coaches who elected to participate in the selection process.
Schools participating were: Catawba College (N.C.), Chowan University (N.C.), Florida Southern College, Lenoir-Rhyne University (N.C.), Newberry College (S.C.), Saint Leo University (Fla.), Shepherd University, (W.Va.) and Young Harris College (Ga.).
All eight schools saw at least one student-athlete honored by the independent head coaches.
Lenoir-Rhyne (7-7) next hosts second-ranked Limestone (16-1) on Thursday night at Moretz Stadium beginning at 7:00 p.m., its second-to-last match of the year.

2013 NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse
All-Independent Teams
Caitlin Chase, Florida Southern
Carly Marksberry, Newberry
Danielle LaDuca, Florida Southern
Georgia Karr, Shepherd
Lorianne Hoover, Florida Southern
Kerri Ann Barlage, Newberry
Taylor Lincoln, Young Harris
Stephanie Marran, Saint Leo
Alyx Albano, Shepherd
Elise Sanchez, Newberry
Marissa Masello, Florida Southern
Melissa Halstead, Florida Southern
Katie Hammerer, Florida Southern

Alix Murray, Saint Leo
Chelsey Bauer, Catawba
Kelsey Eagan, Shepherd
Meredith Jones, Catawba
Ebony Mills, Catawba
Jaclyn Kernohan, Young Harris
Lauren Donovan, Lenoir-Rhyne
Megan Asper, Florida Southern*
Nicole Ruane, Shepherd*
*two-way tie for final spot
Ivey Franklin, Young Harris
Jessica Torrent, Saint Leo
Jillian O'Connor, Catawba
Kelsey Phelan, Shepherd
Bethany Davis, Catawba
All-Freshman Team
Adriea Herndon, Chowan
Alyssa Corace, Catawba
Bethany Davis, Catawba
Carly Marksberry, Newberry
Claire Wach, Lenoir-Rhyne
Erin Phelan, Shepherd
Hunter Morris, Shepherd
Ivey Franklin, Young Harris
Jaclyn Kernohan, Young Harris
Jessica Torrent, Saint Leo
Kristen McGovern, Saint Leo
Morgan Raffaele, Newberry
Paige Leggio, Saint Leo
Taylor Lincoln, Young Harris

Independent Co-Players of the Year: Georgia Karr, Shepherd & Lorianne Hoover, Florida Southern
Independent Freshman of the Year: Carly Marksberry, Newberry
Kristina Quigley Coach of the Year: Kara Reber, Florida Southern

Photo Courtesy: Lauren Donovan, L-R Athletics

Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email