High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
51°F | 65°F | 60%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
40°F | 62°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Bears Place Two On All-SAC Baseball Squad PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Thursday, 18 April 2013 07:01

The Lenoir-Rhyne Baseball Team placed two players on the 2013 All-South Atlantic Conference squads, league officials announced today. L-R sophomore outfielder Ivan Vieitez (Miami, Fla.) was named to the all-league first team while senior shortstop Dalton Hall (Hickory, N.C.) earned second-team all-conference honors.
Vieitez led the Bears in batting average (.361), runs scored (40), hits (65), triples (six), home runs (seven), total bases (108), slugging percentage (.600) and stolen bases (14) this season.
Vieitez was also one of Lenoir-Rhyne's top relievers and finished the year with a 4-1 record with two saves and 27 strikeouts. Hall, a four-year starter, finished third on the team in hitting with a .335 batting average including a team-leading 20 doubles, two home runs and 29 runs batted in this spring.
In addition, Hall was named to the South Atlantic Conference Gold Glove Team. Hall finished the year with a .962 fielding percentage. Lenoir-Rhyne closed its 2013 season with a 9-8 win over Limestone at home on Monday night at Bears Field and posted 21 victories on the year including 12 against league foes.

2013 All-South Atlantic Conference
Baseball Team

C - Nick Pressley, Lincoln Memorial
1B - Chris Dula, Catawba
2B - Julio Zubillaga, Catawba
SS - Curt Fuqua, Lincoln Memorial
3B - Ryan Cranmer, Newberry
OF - Thomas Spitz, Wingate
OF - Ivan Vieitez, Lenoir-Rhyne
OF - Keaton Hawks, Catawba
DH - Garrett Furr, Catawba
SP - Nick Lomascolo, Catawba
SP - Jonathan Rosenberger, Newberry
SP - Olen Little, Wingate
RP - John-Austin Shepard, Tusculum


C - Josh Clark, Wingate
1B - Albert Baur, Newberry
2B - Andre Rodriguez, Lincoln Memorial
SS - Dalton Hall, Lenoir-Rhyne
3B - Blake Prince, Wingate
OF - Champ Stuart, Brevard
OF - Paul Kronenfeld, Catawba
OF - Jermale Paige, Newberry
DH - Joe Polichetti, Tusculum
SP - Chris Armstrong, Carson-Newman
SP - T.J. Rinoski, Wingate
SP - Taylor Rakes, Tusculum
RP - Landon Beck, Anderson

C - Nick Pressley, Lincoln Memorial
1B - Albert Baur, Newberry
2B - Julio Zubillaga, Catawba
SS - Dalton Hall, Lenoir-Rhyne
3B - Jacob West, Lincoln Memorial
OF - Thomas Spitz, Wingate
OF- Cody Baker, Lincoln Memorial
OF - Blake Houston, Catawba
P - Taylor Rakes, Tusculum

SAC Player of the Year: Chris Dula, Catawba
SAC Pitcher of the Year: Nick Lomascolo, Catawba
SAC Freshman of the Year: T.J. Rinoski, Wingate
SAC Coach of the Year: Jim Gantt, Catawba

Photo Courtesy: Dalton Hall, L-R Athletics

Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email