files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Feb-2015.jpg files/DeerfieldWebBanner_final.jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
26°F | 16°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
30°F | 24°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Five Bears Earn All-Deep South Conference Honors PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Monday, 08 April 2013 19:22

Five members of the Lenoir-Rhyne Men's Lacrosse Team earned 2013 All-Deep South Conference Second-Team honors, league officials announced Monday afternoon. L-R juniors Sam Ashton (New Market, Md.), Tyler Kotch (Butler, Pa.) and Imari Davis (San Diego, Calif.) all picked up all-league accolades at the midfield

position. Ashton leads the team in assists (31) and total points (50) to go along 19 goals while Kotch ranks first on the squad in goals scored (27) in addition to 10 assists so far this year. Davis, meanwhile, has 19 goals, 13 assists and 18 ground balls so far on the season.

Sophomore Arno Olivier (Cary, N.C.) earned second-team all-conference honors as a long stick midfielder while sophomore Stephen O'Hara (Kings Park, N.Y.) was named to the All-DSC Second Team as a defenseman. Olivier ranks first on the squad with 49 grounds balls to go along with a pair of goals while O'Hara has started 14 of the team's 15 games and has helped anchor the back line with 25 ground balls.
Finally, sophomore Ned Kaish (Atlanta, Ga.), who plays attack for the Bears, earned honorable mention all-league accolades. Kaish is third on the team in goals scored with 24 to go along with eight assists. Lenoir-Rhyne (8-7) will host the semifinals of the 2013 Deep South Conference Men's Lacrosse Tournament on Thursday at 7:00 p.m., at Moretz Stadium.
L-R will face the winner of the first round conference tournament match between Catawba and Wingate, which is scheduled for Tuesday evening at 7:00 p.m., in Salisbury, N.C. The 2013 Deep South Conference Tournament Championship match will take place on Sunday, April 14, on the campus of Rollins College in Winter Park, Fla.

2013 All-Deep South Conference
Men's Lacrosse Teams

Matt Obermeyer, Saint Leo
John Scheich, Catawba
Chris Ciazza, Saint Leo

Greg Griffo, Tampa
Andrew Conley, Florida Tech
Tom Cullop, Catawba

Long Stick Midfield
Sean Connolly, Saint Leo

D.J. Lubs, Florida Southern
Drew Stoltz, Catawba
Nick Scannapieco, Rollins

Dan Krispinsky, Florida Southern
John Laronga, Saint Leo


Dave Moore, Saint Leo


Derek Watts, Wingate
Dane Sorensen, Florida Southern
Joe McMahan, Tampa

Tyler Kotch, Lenoir-Rhyne
Robert Hutchinson, Saint Leo
Sam Ashton, Lenoir-Rhyne
Kevin Naslonski, Florida Southern
Imari Davis, Lenoir-Rhyne

Long Stick Midfield
Arno Olivier, Lenoir-Rhyne

Jasper Gantick, Tampa


Eric Dance, Tampa
Larry Gress, Tampa
Stephen O'Hara, Lenoir-Rhyne

Dan Rew, Catawba
Trevor Calleja, Tampa


Eric Biller, Florida Tech

Ned Kaish, Lenoir-Rhyne

Kyle Hemrick, Tampa

Ryan Becker, Tampa
Shane Tompkins, Florida Southern
Chris Murphy, Florida Southern

Long Stick Midfield
Sam Penizotto, Florida Southern

David Beaumont, Florida Southern
Paul Aramanda, Saint Leo

Joe Fiorucci, Tampa

DSC Co-Players of the Year: Greg Griffo, Tampa & Matt Obermeyer, Saint Leo
DSC Freshman of the Year: Dave Moore, Saint Leo
DSC Coach of the Year: Ryan McAleavey, Florida Tech




Photo Courtesy: Tyler Kotch, L-R Athletics

Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email