files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 49°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
71°F | 52°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
ASU, Samford Lead All-Sports Races PDF Print
Written by Phil Perry   
Wednesday, 27 March 2013 08:59

Appalachian State’s men and Samford’s women lead the races for the Southern Conference’s all-sport trophies after completion of the winter sports seasons. The Commissioner’s and Germann cups are awarded annually to the Southern Conference schools fielding the league’s best all-around men’s and women’s sports programs, respectively. Schools earn points based upon their regular-season finishes, with two bonus points going to the teams that win their respective conference tournaments.
The Mountaineer men have accumulated 61 points to lead the standings for the Commissioner’s Cup. Appalachian State has finished first or second in everything but men’s soccer so far this academic year to hold a hefty 18.5-point lead over Chattanooga.
In the fall, the Appalachian State men tied for the SoCon crown in football, won the cross country championship and finished sixth in soccer. The Mountaineers followed that up with a solid winter, which included an indoor track and field championship, a second-place showing in the North Division in basketball and a tie for second place in wrestling.
Chattanooga, buoyed by regular-season and tournament titles in wrestling, vaulted three places from the fall standings to second place after the winter with 42.5 points. The Mocs lead Davidson, which won the South Division and the tournament in basketball, by just one point.
Elon, which sponsors just one winter men’s sport, picked up 11 points with its North Division basketball title and sits fourth with 35 points. The Phoenix won the regular-season and tournament titles in soccer in the fall.
The Citadel follows in fifth with 31.5 points, followed by Samford (31 points), Furman (30.5) and Wofford (29). UNCG and Western Carolina are tied for ninth with 27 points apiece, followed by Georgia Southern (26) and College of Charleston (22.5).
Georgia Southern and Wofford shared the football title with Appalachian State in the fall.
In the race for the Germann Cup, Samford retains it spot atop the leaderboard 2/3 of the way through the academic year with 49.5 points. The Bulldogs led after the fall thanks to a North Division title in volleyball, a second-place finish in soccer and a third-place showing at the cross country championship. In the winter, Samford finished third at the indoor track and field championship and tied for fifth in the basketball standings.
Elon remains in second, just 3.5 points back of Samford. The Phoenix finished third in women’s basketball and fourth at the indoor track and field championship. In third place with 42 points is Appalachian State, which won the cross country championship in the fall and finished second at indoor track and field in the winter. Volleyball tournament champion College of Charleston trails in fourth with 34.5 points, followed by Davidson, Furman and Chattanooga in a three-way tie for fifth with 33 points. The Lady Mocs won the regular-season and tournament basketball titles this winter.
Georgia Southern, which won the soccer tournament and was the South Division volleyball champion in the fall, sits eighth with 32 points, followed by regular-season soccer champion UNCG (29 points), Wofford (14) and The Citadel (13).
The Commissioner’s Cup was inaugurated in 1970 and the Germann Cup was first awarded in 1987. The latter is named for former SoCon Commissioner Ken Germann, who served as commissioner of the Southern Conference from 1974-86 and spearheaded the effort to introduce women’s athletics to the league.
Appalachian State has won the Commissioner’s Cup 32 times in the last 35 years, interrupted only by East Tennessee State in 1982-83, Furman in 1990-91 and Chattanooga in 2004-05. Just five schools have ever won the Germann Cup. Appalachian State won the first six and has nine total, while Furman won 12 straight from 1992-2004. College of Charleston, the defending champion, won the first of its three titles in 2004-05, while Chattanooga won in 2007-08 and Samford in 2009-10.

Commissioner’s Cup (through winter sports)

(Men’s Athletics)

1. Appalachian State              61

2. Chattanooga                      42.5

3. Davidson                           41.5

4. Elon                                  35

5. The Citadel                        31.5

6. Samford                            31

7. Furman                              30.5

8. Wofford                            29

T9. UNCG                              27

T9. Western Carolina              27

11. Georgia Southern             26

12. College of Charleston       22.5

Germann Cup (through winter sports)
(Women’s Athletics)

1. Samford                            49.5

2. Elon                                  46

3. Appalachian State              42

4. College of Charleston         34.5

T5. Davidson                         33

T5. Furman                            33

T5. Chattanooga                    33

8. Georgia Southern               32

9. Western Carolina                30

10. UNCG                              29

11. Wofford                           14

12. The Citadel                       13

Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email